Lighter Sesame Chicken

Lighter Sesame Chicken | windykitchen

Happy Monday, friends! Isn’t it a great day?

Well, maybe not for you. If you’re at work, that is. As for me, well, if everything goes as planned, I should be on a flight to MAUI right this very minute!

Hahahaha!

Sorry. That was me cackling gleefully. I’m just really giddy is all! I’ve never been to Hawaii and I absolutely can’t wait!

We’ll be gone all week, but I haven’t forgotten about you guys! I’ve attempted to schedule posts to go live throughout the week, so make sure to check back. And if the automatic-post-scheduler thing outsmarted me, then I’ll be back next week.

Assuming we haven’t moved to Maui, that is.

People do that, you know.

Lighter Sesame Chicken | windykitchen

LIGHTER SESAME CHICKEN (recipe from Iowa Girl Eats)

1/2 cup (dry) brown rice
1/4 cup honey
2 tbsp sesame seeds
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 garlic clove, minced
1 egg white
2 tbsp cornstarch
2 chicken breasts, but into bite-sized pieces
salt and pepper
1 tbsp vegetable oil
2 green onions, chopped
2 cups broccoli florets (fresh or frozen)

1. Prepare rice according to package instructions. While rice cooks, combine honey, sesame seeds, soy sauce, and garlic in small bowl; set aside. In large bowl, whisk together egg white and cornstarch until smooth. Season chicken pieces with salt and pepper, and then add to egg white mixture and toss to evenly coat.
2. In a small saucepan, steam broccoli until crisp-tender (4-5 min), then set aside (if you’re using frozen broccoli, you can also steam in the microwave).
3. Heat oil in  large skillet over medium-high heat, then carefully add chicken. Cook 3-4 minutes per side, or until cooked through. Turn off heat, add prepared sauce and green onions, and toss to combine. Stir in broccoli and serve mixture in bowls with hot rice.

Since I had the beach and swimsuits on my mind, I loved this lighter take on sesame chicken. It tasted great and didn’t leave you feeling so full and dull and heavy like regular sesame chicken. This is a great recipe no matter what your beach plans are.

Lighter Sesame Chicken | windykitchen

One thought on “Lighter Sesame Chicken

Leave a comment