Cake Batter Pudding Pops

Cake Batter Pudding Pops - only three ingredients! | windykitchen

Happy Almost the Fourth, everyone! Got any good plans? Since DC is expecting rain and thunderstorms on the Fourth (and since my job is expecting me to show up on the 5th, rude!), I’ve got a pretty low-key Fourth lined up.

Since we’re almost to summer’s halfway point (!), I figured now was a good time to come clean about my ice cream problem.

I’ve got a bit of an ice cream problem.

Now, it has been my longstanding rule to never, ever, ever buy ice cream and keep it in my house. Why? Because I will eat it all immediately (I also don’t buy bags of potato chips for this same reason). And this isn’t just idle speculation, mind you — the last time I bought a gallon (a gallon!) of ice cream for the fridge, I literally ate it all in 24 hours. Not all in one setting (as if that matters), but it was gone in a single day.

College. Heh.

So – no ice cream in the house. Done. But what about all those pay-by-the-ounce frozen yogurt shops that keep popping up everywhere? I am literally powerless against those places. I try to aim for the lower-calorie flavors and I try not fill my cup too full, but if I walk past a frozen yogurt shop, there’s like an 85% chance that I will be eating frozen yogurt within the next five minutes.

Sigh.

Since the frozen treat thing starting getting a smidge out of control once the weather got warm, I thought I might try to satisfy my craving (addiction?) in a slightly healthier way. I give you: pudding pops!

Cake Batter Pudding Pops - only three ingredients! | windykitchen

CAKE BATTER PUDDING POPS (idea from Rachel Cooks)

1 (3.4 oz) package instant vanilla pudding
2 cups milk
1/4 cup multicolored sprinkles
(you’ll also need a 4-popsicle mold; I got mine at Target for about $5)

1. In large bowl, whisk pudding mix and milk for about 2 minutes, until it starts to thicken. Add in sprinkles and stir to combine.
2. Fill each popsicle mold full of pudding. Freeze until set (about 3 hours).
3. To remove pudding pops from mold, run popsicle mold under warm water for a minute or two, until they are loose enough to remove.

These are so much fun! My husband bit into one and said, “Mmm, tastes like cookies!” Which, I guess yeah. Or cake batter. Either way, these are a cinch to make and so yummy!

Someone didn’t want his picture taken…
Leave a Reply

