Red Pepper Spinach Ricotta Salmon

Red Pepper Spinach Ricotta Salmon | windykitchen

Did you know that you can send GIFs via text message? Well, I mean maybe you can. I don’t know what kind of phone you have. Maybe you don’t even have a phone! The point is, I recently discovered that my phone allowed me to send GIFs via text message, and I basically haven’t been able to stop.

I’ve gotten pretty obnoxious with it, too. Instead of actually responding to something a friend tells me with thoughtful and considered words, I find myself firing off a GIF. This is my favorite all-purpose GIF (it’s Liz Lemon!), but you can find a GIF to suit your every mood here.

And speaking of GIFs, here is a collection of GIFs of babies experiencing things for the first time that gave me a case of near-lethal giggles.

And speaking of giggles…here is some…yummy salmon?

Didn’t quite nail the landing on that segue, did I?

Red Pepper Spinach Ricotta Salmon | windykitchen

RED PEPPER SPINACH RICOTTA SALMON (recipe from Self.com)

2 10-oz packages frozen spinach, thawed and drained, with excess water squeezed out
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 a shallot, minced
2 cloves minced garlic
5-6 sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, or more to taste
1/2 cup part-skim ricotta
4 salmon fillets (about 6 oz each), rinsed and patted dry, with skin removed

1. Heat oven to 350. Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat. Add shallots; cook, stirring, until soft, about 3 minutes. Add garlic and cook an additional minute. Add spinach, sun-dried tomatoes, salt pepper, and red pepper flakes; cook, stirring, 2 minutes more. Remove from heat and let cool about 15 minutes.
2. After spinach mixture has cooled, add ricotta and stir to combine. Season with salt and pepper. Pack about 1/2 cup spinach mixture on top of each salmon filet, matching the shape of the filet. Place salmon in oven-safe dish and bake until cooked through, about 15 minutes.

Very simple and healthy — I loved being able to sneak some extra veggies into my salmon. We had this with quinoa and pine nuts for a light and yummy dinner.

Red Pepper Spinach Ricotta Salmon | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

