I Dreamed a Dream: Cold Taco Salad

Have you seen this yet? It’s amazing. I love me some Les Mis, and if this trailer is any indication, the new movie adaptation is going to be INCREDIBLE. I can’t believe we have to wait until Christmas for it!

Why do I bring this up, you might be wondering? Well, because I discovered this trailer last night at approximately the same time I discovered an epic supply of this leftover cold taco salad in my fridge. I watched the trailer and ate some taco salad…then I watched it again…and ate some more salad. And again. And again. I’m not proud of how much taco salad I ate (nor of how many times I watched the trailer, which eventually morphed into watching this over and over)…but it sure was good.

Even though I managed to eat my body weight in leftovers, this salad is best served IMMEDIATELY upon making it. IMMEDIATELY. See, some of us are disgusting and actually like soggy Doritos [raises hand], but even us disgustos can recognize that this salad is at peak deliciousness seconds after you mix the lettuce, dressing, and delicious Doritos together. If you’re making this to take to a picnic or party – which is an awesome idea, btw – you should bring all the salad ingredients minus Doritos and dressing in one bowl and then add them at the very last possible second for maximum deliciousness. Get to it!

COLD TACO SALAD (my take on a salad we’ve had at family gatherings for years and years)

1 medium bottle Catalina salad dressing (about 16 ounces)
1/2 head of lettuce, chopped
2 large tomatoes, chopped
1 can Mexican chili beans, drained
1 pound lean ground beef
1 envelope taco seasoning
8 ounces shredded cheddar cheese
About 3/4 a large bag of nacho cheese Doritos, slightly crushed

  1. Brown ground beef with taco seasoning; drain, but do not rinse. Combine beef with beans and refrigerate until fully chilled.
  2. Combine lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, and chilled beef/bean mixture. Add crushed Doritos and dressing, tossing to coat. Serve immediately.

Make this salad. Watch the Les Mis trailer. Live a long and happy life.

Also. Can you believe that Susan Boyle clip has almost 100 million views?? I swear, I account for no more than 500,000 of them.

Leave a comment