Spicy Parmesan Shrimp Skillet

As you know, I’m a big fan of the two-pound bags of frozen shrimp my grocery store sells. Shrimp are so healthy and versatile and easy to cook – I just think they’re a no-brainer for easy weeknight dinners. However, there is one thing I don’t love about those two-pound bags of shrimp: the $15-per-bag price tag. Ouch!

On my last Sunday grocery trip, I didn’t even have shrimp on my grocery list. But, I’m so glad I happened to walk past the frozen seafood case, because my beloved two-pounders were on sale for $10 each! I grabbed two, which means I now have approximately 5 pounds of shrimp in my freezer. I guess what I’m saying is – get ready for lots of shrimp recipes, folks!

Like this one right here! I loved this shrimp skillet because I literally had to buy zero ingredients to make it – everything was right there in my pantry! I upped the red pepper flakes to make it extra spicy (as I always do), but you can adjust the heat to your liking. If you want to go a little sweeter, you could even add in some more brown sugar. Either way, this was quick and delicious!

SPICY PARMESAN SHRIMP SKILLET (recipe from How Sweet It Is)

1 pound uncooked shrimp, peeled and deveined (tails off)
1/3 cup olive oil
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
2 tsp minced garlic
2 tsp brown sugar
2 tsp low-sodium soy sauce
1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
2 cups penne pasta, cooked according to package directions
3 green onions, sliced

1. In small bowl, whisk together olive oil, half the Parmesan cheese, garlic, sugar, soy sauce, and red pepper flakes. Add shrimp to a large Ziploc bag, pour mixture over shrimp, and let marinate in the refrigerator at least 30 minutes.
2. While pasta is cooking, heat large skillet over medium heat. Dump in entire contents of Ziploc bag (getting as much marinade in there as possible) and cook until shrimp are pink, about 2 minutes per side. As soon as shrimp is finished, add cooked pasta to skillet and toss to coat completely. Top with remaining Parmesan cheese and green onions.

Yum! This is another awesome meal that comes together faster than it takes the pasta to cook (minus marinade time). Play around with the quantities to get the exact spiciness or sweetness you’re looking for.

Leave a comment