Soba Noodle Stir Fry

Soba Noodle Stir Fry | windykitchen

Are you guys well-versed in peanut butter alternatives? You know, almond butter and soy nut butter and cashew butter and the like? Or, if you’re feeling particularly sassy, cookie butter a/k/a biscoff? (quick side note — that cookie butter is NOT.MESSING.AROUND.)

I, frankly, have never strayed far from my tried-and-true Jif peanut butter. Sometimes I’ll get the organic “healthy” kind if I’m shopping at Whole Foods where there’s no Jif to be found, but I like to keep things simple. Jif all the way, baby.

When I came across this recipe, I was excited because I wanted to try soba noodles (they’re delish!), and I figured I’d go ahead and give almond butter a try while I was at it. But you know what I learned about almond butter? It is 20 dollars a flippin’ jar! Who is buying this almond butter, kings? Hedge fund managers? Definitely not me – I couldn’t stomach the expense. So I made this with regular old Jif and thought it was pretty darn good.

So. If you happen to be a king or hedge fund manager, go ahead and almond butter this up (also, that’ll be $10,000 for the recipe; leave your address in the comments and I’ll send you a bill). But if you’re a 99%-er like me, feel free to stick with Jif.

SOBA NOODLE STIR FRY (adapted from Brown Eyed Baker)

8 oz buckwheat soba noodles (found in the Asian section of the super market – or you could use regular old spaghetti)
1 red bell pepper, seeded and thinly sliced
1 cup shredded cabbage
1 cup broccoli florets
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tbsp minced fresh ginger
4 green onions, sliced thinly
1/2 cup almond slivers
1 tbsp olive oil (plus more for soba noodles)
crushed red pepper flakes, to taste (optional)

Ingredients for the sauce:

5 tbsp peanut butter (or almond butter, for my fancier readers)
4 tbsp water
5 tbsp unseasoned rice vinegar
4 tbsp soy sauce

1. Bring large pot of water to boiling, adding pinch of salt and splash of olive oil. Add soba noodles and cook until just tender, about 10 minutes. Drain, rinse with cold water and set aside.

2. In large pan or wok, heat 1 tbsp olive oil over medium-high heat. Add cabbage, red pepper, and broccoli and sauté for 5 minutes (I added extra veggies and had a hard time fitting it all in my wok – work in batches if necessary). Add garlic and ginger and continue to sauté an additional 3-4 minutes, until veggies are desired level of crispness.

3. Remove veggies from heat, add noodles, and toss with scallions, slivered almonds, and crushed red pepper flakes.

4. To make sauce, whisk together peanut/almond butter and water until smooth. Then, whisk in rice vinegar and soy sauce. Taste and adjust quantities if necessary. Pour sauce over stir fry mixture, tossing to coat. Serve immediately.

We liked this a lot — healthy dinner, made great leftovers for take-to-work lunches, and I do believe it’s even vegan!

Leave a Reply

