Hawaiian BBQ Pork Pizza

Hawaiian BBQ Pork Pizza | windykitchen

As we discussed a few weeks ago, I am now the proud resident of a Trader Joe’s neighborhood. It’s been a little hard to get into the store sometimes (unless 70-person lines are your idea of fun), but I’ve definitely enjoyed poking around in there and making new discoveries. And I’ve really appreciated all of your suggestions, so thanks for those!

My favorite treat so far are these dried mangoes covered in chili powder. They sounded so weird that I just had to pick them up, and it was one of the top 10 best decisions of my life. Chili-covered mangoes! They’re amazing.

I don’t think TJ is going to become my regular grocery store anytime soon, but I’m still really glad that it’s there. For one, their produce doesn’t seem to be all that great (and some people have raised some issues with a number of their offerings). I suppose I’ve been spoiled by the organic market around the block, but either way, I think I’ll keep going there for my fresh produce needs. But for fun stuff like spicy mangoes and my three favorite food groups–hummus, cheese, and wine–I think I’m going to be very happy TJ came to town.

So, if you happen to be swinging by your neighborhood TJ anytime soon, pick up some of their premade pizza dough and give my new favorite pizza a try. This pizza is perfect for the night after you make BBQ pulled pork — you definitely won’t feel like you’re having leftovers!

HAWAIIAN BBQ PULLED PORK PIZZA (windykitchen original)

pizza dough, storebought or homemade
1/2 cup BBQ sauce
1 cup leftover pulled pork (I used the same recipe I use for my pulled pork sliders – only 3 ingredients!)
1/2 cup pineapple chunks, drained and chopped small
1 cup Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
1/3 cup chopped cilantro
3 green onions, chopped

1. Preheat oven to 425. Lightly coat pizza pan with oil (or prepare your pizza stone, if using).
2. Spread dough evenly on pizza pan, then coat dough with BBQ sauce, leaving 1-inch border around pie. Top with pork, pineapple, and cheese.
3. Bake pizza until cheese and crust are golden brown, about 15-20 minutes. Top pizza with cilantro and green onions before serving.

You can always tell when we REALLY liked something by the way I barely take the time to get a decent picture. Can’t wait for the next time I have leftover BBQ pork!

One thought on “Hawaiian BBQ Pork Pizza

Leave a Reply

