Kung Pao Chicken Spaghetti

Kung Pao Chicken Spaghetti | windykitchen

Do you consider yourself a procrastinator?

I really vary by mood. Sometimes I’ll wake up early on a Saturday morning and just be like clean all the things!!! and I’ll do dishes and laundry and pay bills and return emails and just get eeeeeeeverything done.

And then, there are times like today, when the laundry I did a full 5 days ago is still draped over the back of my couch “to dry,” since I am too lazy to pick it up and carry it the 10 feet into my closet.

One thing I am procrastinating on so hard right now is getting my dang hair cut. When is the last time I cut it? The week before my birthday. When is my birthday? Oh, August. And it’s not like I’m pulling this off, either. My hair is too long and all dry and brittle and split-endy and there’s really nothing to be done but cut it. And every day for the last FIFTY DAYS I have thought “oh! I should make an appointment for a haircut.” But have I done it? No sir.

I’m starting to think my dad has the right idea on this one…he’s been cutting his own hair for a long time now. Seriously – how hard could it be?

Anyway, if you’re a Procrastinating Polly like me, try to make a special effort not to procrastinate on making this pasta. This was unexpected and very tasty. And spicy! Nice and spicy πŸ™‚

Kung Pao Chicken Spaghetti | windykitchen

KUNG PAO CHICKEN SPAGHETTI (slightly adapted from Plain Chicken)

Ingredients for the sauce:
1/2 cups chicken stock
2 tbsp cornstarch
3/4 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup dry sherry
3 tbsp red chili paste with garlic (such as sambal oelek
1/4 cup sugar
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
2 tbsp sesame oil

Ingredients for the spaghetti:
2 egg whites
2 tbsp cornstarch
1/2 tsp salt
2-3 tbsp olive oil
1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut in bite-sized pieces
1 lb dried spaghetti, cooked to al dente
1 red pepper, chopped
1 cup dry roasted peanuts
5-6 cloves garlic, minced
1 bunch green onions, chopped

1. To make the sauce: whisk together chicken stock and cornstarch in medium saucepan until cornstarch is fully dissolved. Stir in remaining sauce ingredients and bring to boiling over medium-high heat. Reduce heat and simmer 15-20 minutes, until sauce is thick enough to coat back of a wooden spoon. Set aside.
2. To make the chicken: in mixing bowl, whisk together egg whites, cornstarch, and salt until just blended. Add chicken pieces to egg white mixture and toss to coat. Meanwhile, heat large skillet over medium-high heat, then add olive oil. Once hot, carefully add coated chicken to pan and cook like a solid pancake until egg mixture sets (3-4 minutes). Using large spatula, carefully flip chicken pieces over together, then break them apart using a wooden spoon.
3. Gently stir red peppers and roasted peanuts into the pan. After about a minute, add garlic and green onions. After 30 seconds or so, add kung pao sauce and toss to coat. Combine chicken mixture with pasta and serve warm.

Not the world’s healthiest meal, but so good. Spicy, yummy, and slurpable!

Kung Pao Chicken Spaghetti | windykitchen

3 thoughts on “Kung Pao Chicken Spaghetti

  1. Um, YUM. And I want some. As in yesterday. Great job with this, both the recipe and photos πŸ™‚

    And I’m the worst procrastinator ever. My laundry was supposed to get done on Monday. Clearly it’s still sitting in my hamper now. Still unwashed. The struggle is real. You’re not alone lol

Leave a Reply

