Kale, Wild Rice, and Chicken Bowls with Honey-Balsamic Dressing

Kale, Wild Rice, Chicken Bowls w Honey Balsamic Dressing | windykitchen

Where are my fellow four-eyes?

I’ve needed glasses/contacts for the last 15 years. My vision is rough, guys. I’m fine with things less than 2 feet away, but trying to read something further away than that (or recognize faces, or watch TV, or god forbid drive…) is a lost cause. And it gets worse and worse each time I go to the eye doctor, which is a little alarming, because I’m basically on track to be completely blind by age 36 or so.

If your vision is similarly bad (or even a lot better, frankly), I’ve got something you should check out — zennioptical.com. Are you familiar with Warby Parker or any of those other sites where you can buy glasses online? Well, this is kindof the mother of all those sites. When I went to get new glasses recently, I tried Warby Parker and several of those sites, but they were all too hipstery and weren’t even that cheap. But Zenni was amazing — they have about ten trillion frames, and I got the exact pair I wanted for about $29. And then I liked it so much I got another pair for $22! I’m thinking I might end up with a different pair for every day of the week…that’s normal, right?

So, if you’re looking for new glasses, definitely try Zenni. And for what it’s worth, I’m not affiliated with this company in any way — just a very satisfied customer!

Now! Enough glasses talk. How about a great dinner recipe?

Kale, Wild Rice, Chicken Bowls w Honey Balsamic Dressing | windykitchen

KALE, WILD RICE, AND CHICKEN BOWLS WITH HONEY-BALSAMIC DRESSING (slightly adapted from Iowa Girl Eats)
Ingredients for the salad:
1 cup wild rice blend
2 cups chicken broth
1 chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces
1 tsp olive oil
salt, pepper & garlic powder to taste
4 cups chopped kale (no stems)
1 apple, chopped
3 oz crumbled goat cheese
1/4 cup dried cranberries<
1/2 cup sliced almonds

Ingredients for the vinaigrette:
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 tbsp chicken broth
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp honey
1 clove garlic, grated or finely minced
salt and pepper

1. Bring chicken broth to boil in medium-sized pot with lid. Add rice, cover, and turn heat to medium-low. Simmer until tender, 35-40 minutes. Remove from heat and let sit 10 minutes, then fluff with fork and let cool slightly.
2. While rice cooks, combine ingredients for vinaigrette in small jar, then shake or whisk to combine. Set aside.
3. Season chicken with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Heat tsp olive oil in large skillet over medium heat, then saute chicken until cooked through and no longer pink. Remove to plate and set aside.
4. In biggest bowl you have, combine warm rice, chicken, kale, apple, goat cheese, cranberries, and almonds. Drizzle with vinaigrette, then toss to coat (working in batches if necessary).

Kale, Wild Rice, Chicken Bowls w Honey Balsamic Dressing | windykitchen

I was shocked how much I liked this. Kale and apple aren’t high on my list of favorites, but everything in this worked perfectly together. Husband-approved, too!

2 thoughts on “Kale, Wild Rice, and Chicken Bowls with Honey-Balsamic Dressing

Leave a Reply

