Maple Dijon Bacon Salmon

Maple Dijon Bacon Salmon | windykitchen

Sometimes I worry that you, my internet friends, think I’m a little…frivolous. You know, like all I do all day (besides meticulously photographing everything I eat) is watch Breaking Bad on Netflix, or freak out about the Duchess of Cambridge’s clothes, or troll Buzzfeed reading silly lists like The 33 Dumbest Things That Have Ever Happened, or get way too entertained by Geico commercials. And, cards on the table, I totally do all of those things. But if you’re a regular reader of the blog, you might get the impression that that’s all I do. And that’s at least partly untrue.

That’s kindof the thing about blogging, though, right? You have to decide what you’re comfortable talking about and sharing and making public. Some people treat their blogs like a diary, but that hasn’t really been my jam. In addition to the whole “this blog is open to the public and any creep can read it and learn a bunch of stuff about my life” scariness, there’s also the fact that I actually want you guys to keep reading (the non-creeps, at least. creeps to the left). And since you’re theoretically here for the food (wise choice), I gotta think you have pretty limited patience for long rants about my job or my commute or my feelings about Syria or Obamacare or global warming. Maybe I’m playing to the lowest common denominator, but if the lowest common denominator is the Geico camel, then I have to say I’m OK with that.

God I love that camel.

So. If you guys promise me you don’t think I’m a complete airhead (has anyone used the word ‘airhead’ in the last 15 years??), I promise to keep up my end of the bargain. A little amusing chitchat (or, failing that, a link to something awesome), a hopefully-pretty picture, and a delicious recipe. Done.

Maple Dijon Bacon Salmon | windykitchen

MAPLE DIJON BACON SALMON (adapted from How Sweet Eats)

2 4-oz salmon filets, skin removed
2 tbsp olive or coconut oil
kosher salt and pepper
3 tbsp dijon mustard
1 and 1/2 tbsp maple syrup
2 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled (no judging, I did 3)

1. Preheat oven to 400. Brush both sides of fish with olive oil, then sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place salmon on baking sheet that’s been sprayed with oil or nonstick spray.
2. Whisk together dijon and maple syrup. Spread dijon mixture evenly over salmon. Bake 10-12 minutes or until cooked through (cook time varies a lot by the thickness of your salmon; it should reach an internal temperature of 145).
3. Remove salmon from oven and top with crumbled bacon. Serve immediately.

So while this didn’t quite dethrone our favorite salmon, it was super easy and a really tasty variation. It’s actually a lot like our favorite version, and without all that butter to boot! Way healthier.

…if replacing butter with bacon makes things healthier, that is…

Maple Dijon Bacon Salmon | windykitchen

2 thoughts on “Maple Dijon Bacon Salmon

Leave a Reply

