Beach Eats: Mediterranean Salmon Salad

Mediterranean Salmon Salad | windykitchen

Growing up in the Midwest, I did not go to the beach very often. In fact, I was 8 before I ever saw the ocean and 15 before I saw it again. I think this lack of beach-familiarity gave me a very healthy respect for the ocean. I mean, I like it, and I’m not scared of it per se…I just wouldn’t want to mess with it, I suppose. The ocean is much, much bigger than me, and I never, ever forget that.

Anyway, this is all to tell you that I went to the beach this weekend with some girlfriends, and I still can’t get over how East Coasters can just go to the beach for the weekend (or the day!). Seriously – two and a half hours in the car, one scary bridge over the Chesapeake, and BAM. Ocean. The same ocean that reaches all the way to Europe and Africa. That will never stop impressing me.

Rehoboth Beach

This salmon salad is not only great for you, it also has a nice, beachy vibe going on. Kinda like spa food. Girl food? Sure. But my husband liked this too!

Mediterranean Salmon Salad | windykitchen

MEDITERRANEAN SALMON SALAD (adapted from The Way the Cookie Crumbles)

6 tbsp red wine vinegar
3 tbsp olive oil, plus more for brushing salmon
2 tsp mustard
salt and pepper to taste
1 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed and drained
5-oz package spring mix salad
1/2 cup kalamata olives, roughly chopped
1 14-oz can artichoke hearts, drained and quartered
4 oz crumbled feta cheese

1. Preheat oven’s broiler to high.
2. To make dressing, whisk together red wine vinegar, 3 tbsp olive oil and mustard in a small bowl. Salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.
3. Cook quinoa according to package instructions. Set aside.
4. Line baking sheet with aluminum foil. Place salmon on baking sheet, brush with olive oil, then sprinkle generously with salt and pepper. Broil salmon until opaque in center, 8-10 minutes. Remove from oven and let rest a few minutes, then then use two forks to flake salmon into bite-sized pieces. Toss flaked salmon with 1 tbsp of dressing.
5. Add lettuce to large bowl. Pour dressing over lettuce, then toss well to coat. Mix in quinoa, olives, artichokes, feta, and salmon. Serve immediately, or chill for at least one hour and then serve.

This salad was very yummy and light, although to be totally honest, I like salmon prepared every possible way. I actually preferred this chilled – it made great lunch the next day!

Mediterranean Salon Salad | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

