Creamy Chicken Brie Soup

Creamy Chicken Brie Soup | windykitchen

Gather round, kids, for another installment of Unlikely Success Stories.

Actually, wait. I’m hashtagging it. #unlikelysuccessstories

Like all #unlikelysuccessstories (TM!), it starts with a careless snafu. In this case, I dropped my iPhone in a super classy way — while reaching for a big block of cheese at Whole Foods.

Classy.

Even though I’ve dropped my iPhone hundreds (thousands!) of times with no ill effects, this drop seemed to do the trick, and my screen started showing nothing but vertical blue and black lines. It seemed fine otherwise (Siri was still talking to me), but the display was jacked.

I took it to the Apple store right away, but they were completely unhelpful. The phone was past its warranty, and since it was an iPhone 4s (rather than an iPhone 5), they wouldn’t even repair it — only replace it for $199. My other option was to use my upgrade (I’ve been eligible for a few months), but that would still cost a couple hundred bucks AND I wouldn’t be able to upgrade to the iPhone 6 when it comes out in September.

I mean, first world problems, sure. But still annoying!

Since none of these options sounded good (and since I was sure my phone was still working under all those blue and black lines), I decided to roll the dice and take it into a sketchy, unauthorized, quasi-legal iPhone repair store. This place was literally in a garage, and the Yelp reviews ranged from “Amazing! Fixed my phone in 10 minutes!” to “Avoid at all costs! We had to call the police to get our phone back!”

Anyway, I decided to take a chance, knowing full well that there was a great chance they would break my phone beyond repair and I’d have no recourse. And when I went in, they did nothing to inspire confidence. Like I said, it was in a cold, dirty garage, and the repair guy spent the entire time on the phone speaking a language I couldn’t identify. When I told him what was wrong with the phone, he cut me off and said “Eighty-five dollars.” He didn’t take my name or any info, he just started taking my phone apart. At this point, I was pretty nervous, but the positive Yelp reviews were right — this guy had my iPhone in perfect working condition in under 20 minutes. All he asked in return was 85 smackers (cash only, of course).

#unlikelysuccessstory indeed!

CREAMY CHICKEN BRIE SOUP (recipe from The Way the Cookie Crumbles)

1 tbsp olive oil
1 small onion, diced
1 red pepper, diced
3 cups raw spinach, coarsely chopped
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp flour
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
2 and 1/2 cups milk
8 oz brie cheese, chopped into small pieces
salt and pepper to taste

1. Heat oil over medium heat in large pot. Add onion and pepper and cook 5-6 minutes, or until they begin to soften. Stir in spinach and garlic. Add butter. When butter has melted, whisk in flour to create a roux.
2. When butter has been absorbed into flour, add chicken broth and milk to pot, stirring well. Bring to a simmer. Add brie pieces and stir until it has melted completely, about 5 minutes. Increase heat and bring soup to boiling, stirring occasionally. Once it’s boiling, decrease heat to simmering and let simmer 25-30 minutes. Season liberally with salt and pepper before serving.

How can you go wrong with brie?

One thought on “Creamy Chicken Brie Soup

  1. Pingback: Thai Shrimp and Asparagus Fried Rice with Cashews | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

