Ham and Swiss Muffins

Ham and Swiss Muffins | windykitchen

The other day I got my “time for your dental checkup!” card in the mail, and it made me realize — I don’t think we ever talked about it, but I actually had a pretty bad time with my whole wisdom-teeth removal thing last fall. It wasn’t nearly as manageable and painless as I had been led to believe, and to make matters worse, my dentist was a grade-A jerk. I had to have a suture and was in a lot of pain for the next two weeks. Blegh.

It took awhile for me to transition from ice cream meals to regular human food, and these muffins were the first thing that helped me in that transition. I wanted something very soft and easy to eat – but that still felt kindof like I was eating an actual meal. These were perfect! Not to mention the fact that they froze really well — so I had a few during the wisdom teeth aftermath and froze the rest for later.

PS…if you’re a mustard enthusiast, these are great with a little mustard!

Ham and Swiss Muffins | windykitchen

HAM AND SWISS MUFFINS (recipe from Clockwork Lemon)

2 cups flour
1 tbsp sugar
1 and 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp dried thyme
1 and 1/4 cup milk
1 egg
1/2 cup melted butter
1 and 1/2 cups grated Swiss cheese
1 and 1/2 cups deli ham or ham steak, chopped

1. Preheat oven to 375. Line two muffin tins with paper muffin cups.
2. Stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and thyme in medium bowl. In separate bowl, combine milk, egg, and melted butter.
3. Stir milk mixture into flour mixture until barely combined. Fold in ham and Swiss. Divide batter up between 17 muffin cups.
4. Bake at 375 for 15-20 minutes. Cool on wire rack and enjoy warm. To freeze, allow muffins to cool completely and then freeze in ziplock freezer bag as soon as they are cool.

Perfect savory treat!

Ham and Swiss Muffins | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

