Peppery Chicken Curry

Peppery Chicken Curry | windykitchen

I’ve gotta confess something, friends — I haven’t been spending a ton of time in the kitchen lately. I don’t even have a good reason! I wish I could blame the gorgeous spring weather keeping me outside at night, but it only got nice like four days ago (that’s a whole other series of complaints, but whatever).

Do you guys go through ruts like this? I feel like I’ll come around again. Maybe now that it’s (hopefully) warm for the foreseeable future, I’ll get in the mood for grilling or something. If you’ve got any great recipes that are sure to get my kitchen creative juices flowing, send them my way!

Anyway, I think I need to wrap things up. This is starting to remind me of that last post you always see on abandoned food blogs. It always goes “OMG, I haven’t posted in so long! I’ve just been busy lately. But here’s one great recipe I made!” And then you never hear from them again.

I hope that’s not what’s going on here. I don’t have any plans to abandon you all quite yet!

Peppery Chicken Curry | windykitchen

PEPPERY CHICKEN CURRY (adapted from Savoring the Spice Coast of India)

4 tsp ground coriander
4 tsp cumin
1 tsp turmeric
2.5 tsp freshly ground black pepper
2 tsp salt
2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cut into 1-inch cubes
2 tbsp vegetable oil
1 white or yellow onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 1-inch piece fresh ginger, peeled and grated
1-2 serrano peppers, minced (I used 2 and kept the ribs/seeds in, and mine had a nice, not-overpowering heat)
1 cup canned coconut milk
1/2 cup halved raw cashews
2 tsp fresh lemon juice (about 1/2 a lemon)
cooked white or brown rice, for serving

1. Mix together first five ingredients in small dish. Rub spice mix into chicken pieces; refrigerate 1 hour.
2. In large nonstick skillet or wok, heat oil over medium-high heat. Saute onion until medium brown, 3-4 minutes. Add garlic, ginger, and serrano peppers; stir-fry for 1 minute. Add in marinated chicken and fry, stirring frequently, until chicken is no longer pink. Stir in 1/4 cup coconut milk and 1/4 cup water, cover, and simmer 30 minutes over low heat.
3. When chicken is cooked, add remaining coconut milk. Bring to a simmer, then remove from heat. Stir in cashews and lemon juice. Taste for salt, then serve over rice.

Loved this! Spicy but not crazy spicy — just a lot of good flavor. You can sub chicken breasts for thighs if that’s more your style.

Leave a Reply

