Black Bean Quinoa Veggie Burgers

Black Bean Quinoa Veggie Burgers | windykitchen

I need your help guys! Are you all Trader Joes fans? I’ve always heard people talking about how great Trader Joes is, but I’ve never lived very close to one, and I’ve only been a handful of times. BUT — in a very exciting move — a brand-new Trader Joes just opened up a few blocks from my apartment. Given how much I’ve complained about my annoying on-foot grocery store commute, you can imagine how excited I am.

So, guys — what should I check out at the new neighborhood TJ? All my favorite food bloggers are always talking about their preferred TJ treats, but I’m a total novice. I’m sure I’ll be making a trip there soon, so let me know what I should check out!

And, as a thank-you-in-advance, here’s the best vegetarian meal I’ve made in awhile!

Black Bean Quinoa Veggie Burgers | windykitchen

BLACK BEAN QUINOA VEGGIE BURGERS (slightly adapted from Foodie Physician, as seen on Prevention RD)

1/2 cup dry quinoa, rinsed in a mesh strainer
2 tsp olive oil
1/2 onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
salt and pepper
1 15-oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
2 tbsp tomato paste
1 large egg
2/3 cup frozen corn, thawed
1/2 cup chopped cilantro
1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, minced
2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup flour
6 sandwich buns, along with desired toppings

Black Bean Quinoa Veggie Burgers | windykitchen

1. Add quinoa to small saucepan with 1 cup water. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low, cover pan, and cook 12-15 minute, or until water is absorbed and quinoa is cooked. Remove from heat and let sit 5 minutes, then fluff with a fork.
2. While quinoa cooks, heat oil in small pan over medium heat, then add onion and garlic. Add pinch of salt and sauté until onions are softened, 5-6 minutes.
3. Remove mixture into a large bowl, then add black beans and mash together using potato masher or fork, until pasty mixture forms. Stir in tomato paste, egg, corn, cilantro, chipotle, cumin and pinch of salt. Stir in cooked quinoa, oats, and flour until well mixed. Form mixture into 6 equal patties, compacting them with your hands as much as possible. Place patties on baking sheet or large plate, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for an hour (or up to overnight)
4. To cook preheat oven to 400. Spray baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray and place the patties on the sheet. Cook 10-12 minutes–until patties are golden brown and crispy– then carefully flip over and cook another 10 minutes. Alternatively, you can use a large pan or griddle over medium-high heat, heating patties 4-6 minutes per side or until slightly golden. Serve on buns with desired toppings.

Black Bean Quinoa Veggie Burgers | windykitchen

6 thoughts on “Black Bean Quinoa Veggie Burgers

  1. Trader Joes does have some really good snack food. Like pretty much all of the store branded stuff is really bloody good, especially the cereal & granola bars. Also, two buck chuck is like non-boxed boxed-wine – cheap and TOTALLY CLASSY.

    • Good to know! I’ve also heard good things about the cheese selection and hummus. Do you ever use their premade pizza dough? I usually make my own, but premade does sound very convenient…

      • never have, always do my own. Especially with that so-easy-its-cheatin kitchen aid! Haven’t tried their cheese, but their hummus is good.

      • Good point. I read Dear Prudence the other day, and this woman wrote in asking for help because she kept having these fantasies about her ex-boyfriend dying some horrible death. One of the commenters said she got over a bad breakup by making tons of homemade bread and pizza dough and kneading the hell out of it. Sounds like a lady I could chill with.

  2. The cheese selection is fantastic and well-priced — I used to buy almost all my cheese there. Especially their feta and goat cheese. I agree that the hummus is good. I like the horseradish and kalamata olive flavors. TJ’s is not great for fresh produce, but they do have good prices on avocados, so I always look for those. They have a good variety of grains – farro, quinoa, different kinds of rice, etc. I would also recommend some other pantry staples that they carry at good prices, like canned light coconut milk, spices, agave nectar, honey, canned beans, balsamic vinegar.

    Haven’t tried the pizza dough!

    • Thanks! I have lots of good produce options near me, so that’s not too big of a bummer. Sounds like it’s going to be a great place to duck into some night after work when I have no leftovers, no dinner plans, and nothing to cook. Glad to hear about the balsamic vinegar, I feel like I’ve been going through that by the truckload lately!

Leave a Reply

