Chili Tortellini (Tortelloni?)

Chili Tortellini | windykitchen

I know it’s BASICALLY SPRING AND ALL, but I can probably squeeze one last chili recipe in under the wire, right? I guess I’ll just give it a try and wait to see if I hear from the food blog police.

So! This chili is crazy simple to make (and very good, too), but I gotta say that it confused me quite a bit. The recipe I found from Picky Palate calls it chili tortellini, but the thing I found at my grocery store that I thought was tortellini was actually called — tortelloni? I searched high and low at my trusty Harris Teeter, but there was no tortellini in sight — only the –oni.

[Side note – how weird are grocery store names? When I first moved to DC, Harris Teeter sounded so weird and stuffy to me. I much preferred Chicago’s Jewels and Dominicks, though nothing beats my good old hometown Hen House. At least it’s better than Piggly Wiggly?]

OK, back to the tortelli/oni. I went ahead and picked up the tortelloni, figuring it couldn’t be that different. Then I turned to my old friend Wikipedia and learned that tortelloni are “the same shape as tortellini, but larger.” Mystery solved!

Point being – use whatcha got and call it a day.

Chili Tortellini | windykitchen

CHILI TORTELLINI/ONI (slightly adapted from Picky Palate)

1 pound dry, stuffed pasta (tortellini! tortelloni! ravioli? sure!)
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1medium onion, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 pound lean ground beef
salt and pepper
32 oz low-sodium chicken broth
2 15-oz cans beans (I used black beans, you can also mix and match)
15-oz can diced tomatoes with chiles, such as Rotel
2 tbsp cumin
1 and 1/2 tbsp chili powder
handful fresh cilantro, chopped
juice of 1 lime
shredded cheese and crackers, for serving (if desired)

1. In large stock pot or dutch oven, cook tortellini according to package directions. Drain and remove from pot, setting aside.
2. In same pot, heat olive oil over medium heat. Saute onion and garlic for about 5 minutes, then add beef (and S+P) and cook until browned. Drain if necessary. Add broth, tomatoes, beans, cumin, chili powder, cilantro, and lime juice. Add cooked tortellini and let simmer for 10 minutes . Serve with shredded cheese and crackers, if desired.

This is a different style chili than I usually make, because it’s much broth-ier and not as tomato-saucy (because there’s no tomato sauce, duh). If you prefer your chili saucier, try subbing a can of low-sodium tomato sauce in place of the Rotel.

Chili Tortellini | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

