Chubby Hubby Bars (and windykitchen turns two!)

Chubby Hubby Bars | windykitchen

It’s my two-year bloggaversary!

Can you believe how much food the little windykitchen has churned out in the past two years? We’ve had some good times, like when you all send me recipes or when I let you all peek into my photo studio or when we collectively agree to ignore the calendar so we can enjoy pumpkin recipes.

We’ve also had some bad times, like when I locked myself on my balcony or when I learned that food photography is a sign of mental illness or when I made the world’s yummiest pie but tragically couldn’t get a decent picture of it.

But through the good and the bad, I have to say that my favorite thing about the past two years has been connecting with you guys! Nothing makes me happier than getting an e-mail about one of my posts or hearing that someone made one of my recipes or even getting quasi-threatening text messages about my affinity for pork loin.

So, thanks guys! Here’s to the next two years. And as has been my tradition, here’s a delicious sweet treat to celebrate this milestone!

(my apologies if you’re giving up sweets for Lent…)

Chubby Hubby Bars | windykitchen

CHUBBY HUBBY BARS (recipe from Just a Pinch)

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup white sugar
2 large eggs
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1 cup chocolate chips, plus more for topping
1 and 1/2 cup coarsely chopped pretzels, plus more for topping
1/4 cup peanut butter chips

Chubby Hubby Bars | windykitchen

1. Preheat oven to 350. Line 9×13 pan with foil and coat it in non-stick spray.
2. In medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together butter and both sugars at medium speed until fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla, mixing until incorporated.
3. Reduce mixer spreed to low, then beat in dry ingredients until just incorporated. Stir in chocolate chips and pretzel pieces, reserving some for topping.
4. Spread dough in prepared pan, pressing to fill pan evenly (dough will be thicker and more cookie-like). Top dough with remaining chocolate chips, pretzel pieces, and peanut butter chips.
5. Bake 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown and toothpick inserted in center of plan comes out clean.

There’s just something about that salty-sweet combo that gets me every time. Pretzels in dessert are my favorite!

Chubby Hubby Bars | windykitchen

5 thoughts on “Chubby Hubby Bars (and windykitchen turns two!)

Leave a Reply

