Meatless Monday: Veggie Lo Mein

Veggie Lo Mein | windykitchen

So friends — everyone tired from the Oscars last night? What dresses did we like? Viola Davis’s green dress was one of my favorites, and I loved Oliva Wilde’s sweet little baby bump. Everyone seemed to really love Amy Adams and Lupita Nyong’o’s dresses, but I was…a little underwhelmed. And I was sorta ambivalent about Anna Kendrick’s dress — I loved everything about it except the weird midriff, which was terrible.

I did love the selfie Ellen/Bradley Cooper posted halfway through the evening. My brother-in-law was over last night, and he was counting down all night for that selfie to surpass this selfie as the most re-tweeted selfie of all time. Did I just say selfie about a kiabillion times too many? Oops.

I didn’t see many of these Oscar movies (only American Hustle and Wolf of Wall Street), so I wasn’t super invested in the winners last night. But I loved the dresses, of course. Basically I just wish I could live my whole life wearing a ballgown with a glass of champagne in my hand and a benevolent smile on my face. Doesn’t that sound great?

I mean, doesn’t that sound great?

Veggie Lo Mein | windykitchen

VEGGIE LO MEIN (barely adapted from Mary Ellen’s Cooking Creations)

1 head broccoli, chopped into florets
1/2 lb dry spaghetti
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 red bell pepper, cut into strips
1 carrot, julienned
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 8-oz can diced water chestnuts (found in international aisle)
1 8-oz can bean sprouts (found in international aisle)
1 and 1/2 cups low-sodium vegetable or chicken broth
1 tbsp flour
1 tbsp mirin (rice wine, found in international aisle)
3 green onions, chopped
Sriracha, for serving (optional)

1. Bring large pot of salted water to a boil. Drop broccoli florets in for 2 minutes, then remove broccoli and run under cold water (keep the boiling water in the pot). Shake off excess water and set broccoli aside.
2. Cook pasta to al dente in same pot you used for broccoli.
3. Heat oil over high heat in large skillet or wok. Add peppers and carrots, sauteing for 3-4. minutes. Add broccoli, garlic, water chestnuts, and bean sprouts. Saute 2-3 minutes.
4. In small bowl, mix together broth, flour, and mirin, whisking until smooth. Add to pan with veggies and bring to a steady simmer, letting cook 2-3 minutes.
5. Add drained pasta and green onions to pan with veggies. Toss to coat. Serve warm, with sriracha if desired.

I bookmarked this recipe ages ago, but never got around to making it because it seemed so simple — but I’m glad I finally did! This was a lot better than I expected it to be based on the ingredient list, and it made awesome (cold!) leftovers the next day. And it’s very healthy, especially if you use whole-wheat pasta (which I did…not. oops).

3 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Veggie Lo Mein

  1. Pingback: Veggie-Full Recipe Roundup: Broccoli and Carrots and Spinach, Oh My! | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

