Chipotle Pork Tostadas with Pine-Apple Salsa

Chipotle Pork Tostadas w Pine-Apple Salsa | windykitchen

Would you believe that this is my three hundredth post???

I have to be honest with you, this alarming milestone kinda snuck up on me. On Friday, I was just casually thinking, “oh hey, I wonder how many recipes I’ve posted so far?” FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER. And then I looked, and I was at 299. Crazy, right? Can you guys even believe how much I’ve eaten??

Well. I’ve eaten a lot. And I’ve learned things! I’ve learned that sriracha is your best friend, that cooking with yeast doesn’t have to be scary, and that even cauliflower can taste OK when you roast it with a bunch of oil and spices. I’ve learned the best and worst places in my apartment for taking pictures of my dinner, including how not to lock myself on the balcony. And I’ve learned that my husband actually likes to help out in the kitchen, as long as I fawn over how his big manly muscles help him shred cheese faster than I ever could.

[Sidenote. I have to share this with you. When I mentioned to my husband that this would be my 300th post, he immediately thought of the 300 sandwiches girl and suggested I incorporate that into my post. And I quote, “You should be like, ‘Hey guys, this is my 300th post! Now my husband has to propose to me! JUST KIDDING! He already did!'” Sigh. Wouldn’t you enjoy reading his blog??]

Anyway, one thing I thought I had learned was that pineapple and savory food do not mix. Pineapple on pizza? In fried rice? In…something else? Blegh. BUT. Then I made these pork tostadas and learned how wrong I was. This pine-apple salsa is the perfect complement to the spicy chipotle pork — so bright and fresh and cheery.

It’s almost like I haven’t learned absolutely everything there is to know about everything…

Chipotle Pork Tostadas with Pine-Apple Salsa | windykitchen

CHIPOTLE PORK TOSTADAS WITH PINE-APPLE SALSA (slightly adapted from Cassie Craves)

Ingredients for the salsa:
1 cup pineapple chunks, minced
1/2 apple, minced
1/3 cup roasted red pepper, patted dry and chopped (I used jarred, but you can roast your own)
1 shallot, minced
2-3 tbsp chopped cilantro
juice of 1 lime
pinch of cumin
salt and pepper

Ingredients for the tostadas:
6 corn tortillas (or can use premade tostada shells)
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 onion, chopped
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1 and 1/2 lbs pork tenderloin, halved lengthwise and cut crosswise into very thin strips
1 14.5-oz can diced tomatoes, undrained
1 tbsp honey
1 tbsp cider vinegar
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp cumin
salt and pepper
2 tbsp chopped chipotles in adobo (or more to taste)
shredded cheese (Pepperjack, cheddar, Mexican blend…), for topping
other desired toppings (sour cream, lettuce, guacamole, etc.)

1. To make the salsa, combine all salsa ingredients in medium bowl; stir until blended. Cover and chill until ready to use.
2. If using corn tortillas, preheat oven to 400. Brush tortillas lightly with oil and arrange on baking sheet. Bake 8-10 minutes, until browned and crispy (if you’re using premade tostada shells, you’ll obviously skip all this).
3. Meanwhile, to prepare tostadas, heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add onion, cooking 2 minutes or until tender. Add garlic and cook another 30 seconds. Add pork to pan; cook 4 minutes or until pork loses its pink color, stirring occasionally.
4. Stir in tomatoes, honey, vinegar, oregano, cumin, salt and pepper, and chipotles. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes. Uncover and simmer 10 minutes or until liquid is nearly evaporated.
5. Top tostadas with pork mixture, shredded cheese, salsa, and other desired ingredients. CHOW DOWN.

So these were great as tostados, but I couldn’t help thinking that they’d be even better as NACHOS. You know? Break out some corn chips, throw your meat on top, top with copious amounts of cheese, then stick it under the broiler for a bit. Add your pine-apple salsa and you’re in business!

Chipotle Pork Tostadas with Pine-Apple Salsa | windykitchen

2 thoughts on “Chipotle Pork Tostadas with Pine-Apple Salsa

Leave a Reply

