Almond Poppyseed Coffee Cake

Almond Poppyseed Coffee Cake | windykitchen

For (almost) as long as I’ve been alive, my parents have lived next door to my grandparents. And for a long, long time — not my whole life, but probably since I was in middle school — my grandparents have come over to my parents’ house every Sunday morning for breakfast.

Back in the early days, “breakfast” was really just black coffee and grocery-store-bought cookies, but around the time I moved out, they started getting a little fancier with their breakfasts. Sometimes my mom cooks (savory stuff, mostly), and sometimes my grandma brings over her concoctions (which are sweet).

My grandma pretty much has the coffee cake game cornered (hers has walnuts – sometimes pecans – and a yummy glaze), but I think this almond poppyseed coffee cake may be good enough to snag a spot at their breakfast table. You guys. I loved this coffee cake. The streusel, the glaze, the almonds…it’s really, really good.

Also, pro tip? Freeze the leftovers. My mom does this with my grandma’s coffee cake, and it works. Frozen coffee cake, guys. Get on board.

Almond Poppyseed Coffee Cake | windykitchen

ALMOND POPPYSEED COFFEE CAKE (recipe from My Kitchen Escapades)

Ingredients for the cake:
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 and 1/4 cups sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 and 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 and 1/2 tbsp poppy seeds
1 and 1/2 cups milk
3 eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
2 tsp almond extract
2 tsp vanilla extract

Ingredients for the streusel:
2/3 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup (white) sugar
1/2 cup slivered almonds, roughly chopped
1/2 cup butter, room temperature

Ingredients for the glaze:
1 cup powdered sugar
2-3 tbsp orange juice

1. Preheat oven to 350. Spray bundt pan or 9×13 cake pan with nonstick spray. In large bowl, mix together all ingredients for the cake. Pour cake batter into prepared pan.
2. To make streusel, mix together flour, sugar, and almonds in medium bowl. Using a pastry cutter (fork’ll work too), cut the butter into the flour mixture until butter is the size of peas. Sprinkle streusel over top of cake and bake 45-50 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean.
3. Allow cake to cool 10 minutes, then mix together ingredients for glaze and pour over cake (remove from pan first if you’re using the bundt pan). Serve warm.

Almond Poppyseed Coffee Cake | windykitchen

I wish I was eating this right now.

5 thoughts on “Almond Poppyseed Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

