Salmon with Walnut-Pepper Relish

Salmon with Walnut Pepper Relish | windykitchen

Do you want healthy, glowing, gorgeous skin? Then you should probably double-time it to the grocery store to get the ingredients to make this salmon. I don’t mind admitting I’m something of an expert when it comes to the best foods to eat for healthy, young-looking skin…and by expert, I mean that I regularly google “best foods for good skin.” Basically, if we accept google as an absolute authority – which I do – then I am totes an expert.

Anyway, three foods that always show up on those lists are salmon, walnuts, and red peppers. I don’t totally know why (I think it has something to do with “omegas” or something similar), but the internet says they’re good for my skin, and that’s good enough for me.

Coincidentally, this was also very tasty. I can’t say it was better than our favorite salmon (what could be?), but it was way healthier and I totally believe that it made my skin look better.

Satisfaction guaranteed.

Salmon with Walnut Pepper Relish | windykitchen

SALMON WITH WALNUT-PEPPER RELISH (slightly adapted from Food Network)

1/2 cup walnuts
pinch cayenne pepper
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 tsp honey
1 red pepper, roasted and chopped (about 1/3 cup)
2 tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley, divided
kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 tbsp chopped fresh chives
1 tsp grated lemon zest
4 4-oz salmon fillets, skin removed

1. To make the relish: Heat small skillet over medium-high heat; add walnuts and toast, turning occasionally, until browned and fragrant, about 5 minutes. Let cool, then finely chop and transfer to small bowl. Add cayenne, lemon juice, honey, roasted red peppers, 1 tbsp olive oil, and 2 tbsp parsley. Add 1/2 tsp salt and black pepper to taste; toss to combine (the relish can in advance and refrigerated).
2. To make the salmon: Preheat oven to 425. Combine remaining 1 tbsp olive oil, 2 tbsp parsley, chives, lemon zest, 1/2 tsp salt, and black pepper to taste in a bowl (I added some lemon juice as well). Rub herb mixture all over salmon. Place salmon in baking dish and roast until just cooked through, 10-12 minutes. Let rest 5 minutes, then serve, topped with walnut-pepper relish.

If you want the full, skin-enhancing effects, wash this down with a bunch of water and green tea. Not wine. Definitely not wine.

…sometimes I forget that last step.

Salmon with Walnut Pepper Relish | windykitchen

2 thoughts on “Salmon with Walnut-Pepper Relish

Leave a Reply

