Meatless Monday: Creamy Spinach Enchiladas

Creamy Spinach Enchiladas | windykitchen

Etiquette question: is it ever OK to ask a quasi-stranger (your waiter, for instance) a question like, “Has anyone ever told you that you look a lot like [insert name of famous person]?”

I feel like this is OK, as long as you’re sure that the famous person you’re referring to is generally considered to be attractive.

This came up a few weeks ago when my husband and I were having dinner at a neighborhood restaurant that we occasionally go to. After our waiter – who we had seen before – took our drink orders, my husband mentioned that he thought the waiter looked an awful lot like Florida Senator Marco Rubio. He really did, and we proceeded to spend the bulk of our meal discussing whether or not it would be in poor taste to mention that to him.

We ended up going for it, and here’s why – both Marco Rubio and our waiter are objectively super handsome dudes. We figured that even if the waiter didn’t appreciate us commenting on his appearance, he probably wouldn’t be offended to be compared to such a nice-looking person. And he sure didn’t seem to be – in fact, he told us that since he shaved his beard off, he’s gotten that from at least five different people. So if we’re rude, at least we’re in good company.

In case you’re wondering why my husband and I would spend an entire evening out discussing the etiquette of the you-sorta-look-like phenomenon, I should probably explain that this isn’t the first time this has come up with us. About six months ago, we were visiting Chicago and I felt strongly compelled to tell a bartender that he looked like an attractive version of the comedian Louis C.K. I was talked out of doing it, though, because husband made the excellent point that no matter how many caveats I put in front of it, no one wants to be told they look like an objectively not-that-goodlooking celebrity. And at the end of the day, I guess he’s right. I mean, if someone told me I looked like Roseanne Barr – but prettier – I probably wouldn’t be too psyched.

So. I think we all learned something here.

Creamy Spinach Enchiladas | windykitchen

CREAMY SPINACH ENCHILADAS (adapted from Real Simple)

1 cup evaporated milk (not condensed milk)
salt and pepper
2 4.5-oz cans chopped green chiles (for extra heat, sub in jalapenos!)
1 10-oz package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
1 cup frozen corn, thawed
1 and 1/2 cups grated cheddar cheese, divided
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp chili powder
juice of 1 lime
8 6-inch flour tortillas

1. Heat oven to 400. In small bowl, combine evaporated milk, salt and pepper, and 1 can chopped green chiles. Taste and adjust seasoning (I added some cumin and chili powder, but hey that’s me). Pour 1-2 tbsp of the sauce into a 9×13 baking dish, or just enough to very thinly coat bottom of dish.
2. In medium bowl, combine spinach, corn, 1 cup cheese, remaining can green chiles, salt and pepper, cumin, chili powder, and lime juice. Divide mixture evenly among tortillas (about 1/3 cup per tortilla), rolling them up and placing them in prepared baking dish. Pour sauce over enchiladas then top with remaining 1/2 cup cheese.
3. Cover enchiladas with foil and bake until bubbly, 15-20 minutes. Uncover and bake until golden, another 10 minutes or so.

Simple, vegetarian, and seriously tasty. Maybe I should stay home and eat stuff like this more often, instead of inflicting my awkwardness on the hardworking waiters of DC…

2 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Creamy Spinach Enchiladas

  1. I always tell people if they look like attractive celebrities. Bill frequently gets asked if he is Billy Bob Thornton which, depending upon the movie, could or could not be a compliment. Linda

    • I agree with you! And I’ve always thought Billy Bob Thornton was a handsome guy, so it’s a compliment in my book.

      My parents have a friend that looks a lot like Jon Lovitz. He isn’t a bad looking guy (their friend, I mean), but it’s still not a comparison I’d feel comfortable bringing up…

Leave a Reply

