Meatless Monday: Farro Salad with Cranberries and Goat Cheese

259 farro salad with cranberries and goat cheese

The other day I found this super interesting article that featured a roundup of awesome foreign-language words that have no English equivalent (but that really should). There were so many good ones! Like “gigil,” which is Filipino for “the urge to pinch something extremely cute.” And “age-otori,” which is Japanese for “to look worse after a haircut” (something I am extremely familiar with). And my personal favorite, the German word “backpfeifengesicht,” which translates as “a face badly in need of a fist.” We gotta come up with an English word for that!

Another thing I’d like to see an English word for is “the way one behaves when eating dinner alone as opposed to with others.” I know you know what I’m talking about. Rather than serving entrees and side dishes on plates and then eating those entrees and side dishes while sitting down and making conversation with another human, you find yourself…behaving differently. Maybe you ditch the plate. Maybe you skip the sitting down, instead shoveling food into your mouth while hovering over the refrigerator. Maybe the food itself changes, with entrees and side dishes giving way to dumping a handful of cereal in a jar of peanut butter and then fishing it out with a spoon.

…I’ve heard that other people do that sometimes. I mean.

Whatever the English word for this is — to kroll? “Last night, I krolled”? — it would definitely describe my experience with this farro salad. Whenever my husband is out of town/working crazy hours, I do one of two things for dinner: I either hover over the refrigerator shoveling random food into my mouth (the sadder of the two options), or I make myself a nice, light vegetarian meal. This dinner was option number two, and it rocked. Happy krolling!

FARRO SALAD WITH CRANBERRIES AND GOAT CHEESE (adapted from Prevention RD)

2 cups farro, dry
3 celery stalks, chopped
2/3 cup dried cranberries
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
2 tbsp maple syrup (real is best)
salt and pepper to taste
3 oz soft goat cheese, crumbled
1/4 cup sliced almonds

1. Rinse farro and cook according to package directions. Remove from heat and let cool.
2. Combine garlic, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, maple syrup, salt and pepper; whisk until well combined. Combine farro, celery, and cranberries in large bowl and then pour dressing over top, stirring to coat well. Add goat cheese and almonds; toss lightly. Refrigerate or serve immediately.

Doesn’t get much easier than that — plus the dressing is awesome. Anything with balsamic vinegar is usually a-OK with me.

Leave a Reply

