Crunchy Lemon Chicken

Crunchy Lemon Chicken | windykitchen

So, winter finally showed up, huh?

I don’t know about this weather, guys. Last winter was so nice and mild that I sorta forgot how much of a GIANT BABY I am when it comes to cold weather. I am the worst! And there is literally no one else on earth who has less reason to complain about the cold than me. My house is less than a block from a subway station, and my office can be accessed entirely via underground tunnels leading from the subway. Basically, the amount of time I spend complaining about the cold (approx. 35 minutes per day) is TEN TIMES GREATER than the amount of time I actually spend outside in the cold (approx. 3.5 minutes). I’d say that qualifies me as being the worst, wouldn’t you?

Given this unpleasant state of weather-affairs, I probably should’ve shared some rich hearty stew or chili with you guys today, instead of this (nevertheless delicious) lemon chicken. But — confession! — I haven’t spent a ton of time in the kitchen lately, and not at all since winter showed up. What with traveling for the holidays, having friends in from out of town, and my dang wisdom teeth problems, precious little cooking has gone on in the windy kitchen these days. I’m fixing that this week, but in the meantime, enjoy some chicken!

CRUNCHY LEMON CHICKEN (recipe from Health Magazine)

1 cup plain Greek yogurt
1/4 cup chopped parsley
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
zest and juice of 1 lemon
salt and pepper
4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
1 cup panko bread crumbs
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 tsp paprika

1. In medium bowl, combine yogurt, parsley, garlic, lemon and salt and pepper. Coat chicken in yogurt mixture and let marinate, refrigerated, for one hour or up to overnight.
2. Preheat oven to 450. Fit a wire rack over a rimmed baking sheet.
3. Combine panko, parmesan cheese, and paprika in shallow dish or pie plate. Dredge yogurt-coated chicken in panko mixture, pressing to coat. Transfer chicken to baking rack and bake until golden brown and cooked through, 15-20 minutes (mine took 20 – chicken should reach internal temperature of 165).

I loved how the lemon flavor really came through in this. This was simple and delicious!

2 thoughts on “Crunchy Lemon Chicken

  1. Pingback: Crunchy Lemon Chicken | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

