Southwestern Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie

Southwestern Sweet Potato Shepherd's Pie | windykitchen

So today’s kindof a good-news, bad-news day for me. The good? No work. The bad? I am finally sucking it up and getting my wisdom teeth out. Booooooo.

Have you guys all done this? I feel like I’m pretty late to the wisdom-teeth-out party. They’ve never especially bothered me, and none of them are impacted, but I guess I’m becoming a pushover in my old age, because I let the dentist talk me into it last time I was there. Aren’t I responsible?

Anyway, I’m not sure what all I’ll be able to be eating this weekend [am I in for two straight days of ice cream and pain pills? Because I’m actually kinda looking forward to that], but hopefully I’ll be back in the kitchen whipping new recipes up soon. I sorta wish I had some of this shepherds pie left, because in addition to being really yummy, its abundance of mashed sweet potatoes would make for easy eating for anyone with sore teeth.

Southwestern Sweet Potato Shepherd's Pie | windykitchen

SOUTHWESTERN SWEET POTATO SHEPHERD’S PIE (recipe from Cinnamon Spice & Everything Nice)

3 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
2 tbsp butter, more or less
2 tbsp milk, more or less
salt and pepper
1 tbsp olive oil
1 small onion, diced
1 red bell pepper, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 4-oz can green chiles or diced jalapenos (depending on heat preference – I actually used one of each!)
1 pound ground beef
2 tsp chili powder, or more to taste
1 tsp oregano
2 tsp ground cumin
1 14.5-oz can tomato sauce
1 and 1/2 cup shredded cheese, divided (I used half pepperjack, half cheddar)
fresh cilantro, chopped, for garnish

1. Preheat oven to 400 and place a large cookie sheet on bottom rack of oven to catch drips. Add cubed sweet potatoes to large pot with enough water to cover potatoes completely. Bring to a simmer over medium-high heat and cook until tender (mine took about 9 minutes). When potatoes are fork-tender, remove them to a large bowl, add butter and milk (eyeball it), and mash with a masher. Season with salt and pepper.
2. While potatoes cook, heat olive oil over medium low heat in large skillet. Add onion, red pepper, and garlic. Season with salt and pepper and cook 7-8 minutes, stirring often. Add green chiles/jalapenos and cook 2-3 more minutes. Remove vegetables to small bowl and set aside.
3. Turn heat on skillet up to medium and add ground beef. Brown beef, breaking apart with spatula, until fully cooked. Drain off grease. Mix in chili powder, oregano, and cumin. Season well with salt and pepper. Mix in cooked vegetables and tomato sauce. Cook 5 minutes more, stirring often. Taste and season as needed.
4. Coat 9-inch pie plate or baking dish with nonstick spray or oil. Add beef/veggie mixture evenly over bottom of dish. Sprinkle cheese over top, then spoon mashed sweet potatoes evenly over top.
5. Bake 30 minutes. Let set 5-10 minutes before serving. Garnish with chopped cilantro.

This fits into what is probably my favorite category of food — comfort food that’s still nice and spicy. If you love this category as much as I do, you should definitely try this shepherd’s pie — and maybe this chipotle chicken corn chowder…or this salsa verde chicken and dumplings…or this Cajun jambalaya pasta

Southwestern Sweet Potato Shepherd's Pie | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

