Meatless Monday: BBQ Sriracha Tempeh

BBQ Sriracha Tempeh | windykitchen

I love learning exotic new words, but I hate that belated discovery that I’ve been pronouncing them wrong. Was I the only one who got through four Harry Potter books before learning that Hermione is pronounced her-MY-oh-knee? I suppose this doesn’t make much sense in retrospect, but in my head, I always called her HERM-uh-ween.

In the food world, quinoa is probably the poster child for the I-know-what-it-means-but-not-how-to-pronounce-it family of foods. It’s KEEN-WAH, by the way. But it took me a good year before I stopped thinking of it as quin-oh-ah.

Sriracha is another one, right? And this one bummed me out. I really enjoyed calling it SREE-RAH-cha, but alas – that’s not its name. SIR-rotch-ah is just so much more boring than my way. How many other words let you make the noise SREE?!? Not enough.

Anyway. In case you were still curious about SIR-rotch-ah, here’s some light reading for you. Just please don’t watch the video of the idiot who drank 3 pounds of it. It is in no way worth 7 minutes of your life.

BBQ Sriracha Tempeh | windykitchen

BBQ SRIRACHA TEMPEH (adapted from Food Fitness Fresh Air)

1 8-oz package tempeh
1/3 cup ketchup
1/4 tsp cumin
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tbsp honey
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp lime juice (half a lime)
3 tbsp sriracha
1/2 shallot, minced
chopped cilantro, for garnish

1. Fill large skillet with 3-4 cups of water. Bring to simmer, add tempeh, and let simmer for 20-30 minutes.
2. Meanwhile, place next eight ingredients (ketchup through shallot) in a small bowl, stirring to combine.
3. When tempeh has finished simmering, let cool just until able to handle. Cut tempeh into 20 or so small strips, about the size of your finger. Place tempeh strips in BBQ sriracha sauce and let marinade for 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 400.
4. Line baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with nonstick spray. Place tempeh in single layer on baking sheet and pour remaining sauce on top.
5. Bake tempeh 25-35 minutes, until sauce begins to brown. Serve with cilantro.

We had this over rice, but I think it would be great on a sandwich, too. And the sauce is fantastic — spicy and tangy and just a tiny bit sweet. I’m not sure why, but my stomach always feels great after eating tempeh — not heavy or full or yucky like it can sometimes get with other food. If you haven’t tried it yet, you should!

BBQ Sriracha Tempeh | windykitchen

2 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: BBQ Sriracha Tempeh

    • When I was little, I read the name “Sean” in a book without having any idea how it was pronounced. I then INSISTED to someone that, in addition to the name “Shawn,” there was also a name pronounced like “SEEN.” Quinoa and sriracha can do that to you, too…

Leave a Reply

