Salsa Verde Chicken and Dumplings

Salsa Verde Chicken and Dumplings | windykitchen

With fall here and football and basketball season upon us, I’ve gotten a great idea* for a new smart phone app. I don’t use the calendar app on my phone for every single little thing, but I do make sure to use it for things that I’ve scheduled more than a few days in advance (out-of-town guests, haircuts, plays/concerts I got tickets for ahead of time, etc). So when someone wants to make plans, I take a quick glance at my calendar and then I’m good to go. Simple.

For the most part.

The problem I have with this system is that I don’t take the time to put absolutely everything that matters to me on the calendar. Specifically — sporting events. I may not have specific, concrete plans on a given Tuesday night, but if the Jayhawks are playing that night, I might be inclined to suggest that happy hour move from Tuesday to Wednesday, ya dig?

So, my app idea is something that connects to your calendar and allows you to import your favorite team’s season schedule directly into your calendar. I know I could just check their schedule before making my evening plans (or add them to my calendar by hand, which I actually do), but this is 2013! We shouldn’t have to go through all those redundant, inconvenient steps when an app could easily do that for us!

So. In celebration of a fall and winter full of sports, I encourage you all to hurry up and learn how to make apps so you can make this app for me ASAP. And in celebration of the cooler weather that’s finally upon us, I encourage you to make this warm, comforting (yet still spicy and flavorful!) chicken and dumplings bake.

*…there’s easily a 95% chance that someone else already thought of this, so if it already exists, let me know where to find it!
Salsa Verde Chicken and Dumplings | windykitchen

SALSA VERDE CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS (adapted from Perfect One-Dish Dinners, via Pink Parsley)

Ingredients for the chicken:
2 tbsp unsalted butter
1/2 large onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 and 1/2 cups (12 oz) low-sodium chicken broth
2 cups salsa verde, homemade or store-bought (I used my grocery store’s generic brand)
2/3 cup milk
1 cup corn kernels (thawed if frozen)
2 large chicken breasts, poached and shredded
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
2 green onions, minced
salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes, to taste

Ingredients for the dumplings:
1 cup milk
3 tbsp unsalted butter
1 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cornmeal
1 tbsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
2 green onions, thinly sliced
1/4 cup chopped cilantro

1. To make chicken, heat oven to 400. Heat 2 tbsp butter over medium heat in large skillet (ovenproof if you’ve got it). Add onions and cook until softened, 5-8 minutes. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant. Whisk in flour to make a paste, then mix in broth, salsa verde, and milk. Whisk, vigorously at first, until mixture simmers and thickens to a saucy consistency (saucy!).  Stir in corn, chicken, cilantro, and green onions.  Season with salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper flakes to taste.  Heat through, remove from heat, and cover to keep warm.
2. To make dumplings, heat milk and butter in small saucepan until steaming.  Mix flour, cornmeal, baking powder, salt, green onions, and cilantro in medium bowl with a fork.  Stir in milk mixture to form smooth, firm dough.
3. Scoop dough from the bowl into ping-pong ball size portions and drop onto chicken mixture (if you’re not using an oven-save skillet, transfer chicken to casserole dish before this step).
4. Transfer skillet (or casserole dish) to oven. Bake until dumplings are cooked through, 15-20 minutes. Serve.

This is the perfect comfort food for someone who likes things spicy.

Salsa Verde Chicken and Dumplings | windykitchen

One thought on “Salsa Verde Chicken and Dumplings

  1. Pingback: Southwestern Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

