Taco Verde Pizza

Look at my new toy!

Kitchenaid Stand Mixer

I’ve wanted one for a long time now, but I was holding off because they are so dang expensive! Luckily I’m married to a pretty great guy, and he surprised me with one for our two-year anniversary!

#woot #humblebrag #onsecondthought #regularbrag #sorryimnotsorry

…anyway.

Anyway! To celebrate/thank him/play with my awesome new toy, I made us this insanely yummy pizza. I used my favorite standby pizza crust recipe, but I was blown away by how much better it was made in the stand mixer! It was lighter and fluffier and crispier on the bottom and just all-around better. Have you guys known this all this time? That stand mixers make everything taste better? I just couldn’t believe how noticeable the difference was; I felt like a blind man seeing for the first time!

And, incidentally, the delicious crust wasn’t even the best part of this pizza. If you’re into Mexican food, you’re definitely going to be into this pizza. We definitely were!

Taco Verde Pizza | windykitchen

TACO VERDE PIZZA (windykitchen original)

1 pizza crust (storebought or homemade, I used this recipe)
1/2 tbsp butter
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 jalapeno, minced (seeds and ribs removed if you’re heat-sensitive, omitted if you’re very heat-sensitive)
1 and 1/2 tsp flour
1/2 cup milk
2/3 cup salsa verde
1/2 lb ground beef
taco seasoning, to taste (can use packet or homemade; I eyeballed this recipe with spices in my cabinet)
1/2 14-oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup frozen corn kernels, thawed
3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
3/4 cup shredded pepperjack cheese
1 small tomato, seeded and chopped
3 green onions, chopped

Taco Verde Pizza | windykitchen

1. Preheat oven to 425. Lightly oil pizza pan and spread pizza dough on pan.
2. Heat butter over medium-low heat in small saucepan. Once melted, add garlic and jalapeno and cook 1-2 minutes, until fragrant. Add flour, stirring constantly, until absorbed into butter, about 1 minute. Slowly pour in milk, stirring constantly, and continue stirring until sauce has heated and thickened, 3-4 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in salsa verde.
3. In large skillet, brown ground beef, breaking up with spoon or spatula and adding desired amount of taco seasoning as it browns. Once cooked through, drain excess fat but do not rinse.
4. Spread salsa verde sauce over pizza dough, then top with ground beef, beans, corn, and cheese.
5. Bake pizza until cheese is bubbly and crust is golden and browned, 12-15 minutes. When done, remove from oven and top with tomatoes and green onions.

Pretty good pizza if I do say so myself! If you want to simplify/speed things up, you can omit the bechamel sauce and just use jarred salsa verde by itself as the sauce. You can also used shredded Mexican blend cheese, but I just love shredding my own cheese (it melts better!).

Taco Verde Pizza | windykitchen

Pretty great guy, that husband of mine…and I do hope he’s reading this, because he loves to complain about how I “make fun of him” on this blog…

Here’s to the next two years (and the 50 after that)!

One thought on “Taco Verde Pizza

  1. Pingback: Oh What a Year It’s Been! (Top 13 Recipes of 2013) | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

