Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Donuts with Maple Glaze

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Donuts w Maple Glaze | windykitchen

I’m not sure if this has come up on the bloggy-blog before, but I’m an only child. And while I think us only children are unfairly maligned in a number of ways, I can’t help but admit that “sharing” is not one of our strengths. For me personally, it’s not that I’m bad at sharing per se — it’s more that I draw a very clear and unambiguous line between community property (share away!) and non-community property, a.k.a. my property, a.k.a. HANDS OOOFFFFFFFF!!!

As you might expect, this extends to food. I’m in charge of all the grocery shopping around here, and 95% of what I buy is community property, but that last five percent…well. Hands off that last five percent, OK?

These (delicioussss…) pumpkin-maple donuts provided an inadvertent exercise in the wide world of sharing. I made them as a “yay, it’s finally fall!” celebratory breakfast on the first Saturday of football season, and by the time I left for work Monday morning, there was only one left (whoops). I didn’t think anything of it at the time, but as my Monday got longer and crappier and more tiresome, I found my mind wandering back to that donut all afternoon, thinking ManI hope it’s still there when I get home! Please be there when I get home!

Well. It was. And it was, of course, delicioussss.

Thank goodness my husband grew up with brothers. He’s much better at sharing 🙂

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Donuts w Maple Glaze | windykitchen

PUMPKIN CHOCOLATE CHIP DONUTS WITH MAPLE GLAZE (slightly adapted from Damn Delicious)

Ingredients for the donuts:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2/3 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup Greek yogurt (unflavored)
2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup chocolate chips

Ingredients for the glaze:
3/4 cup powdered sugar
1 and 1/2 tsp cinnamon
3 tbsp pure maple syrup
1 tbsp milk

1. Preheat oven to 400. Coat a donut pan with nonstick spray. In large bowl, combine flour, sugar, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, baking powder, and salt.
2. In large glass measuring cup or another bowl, whisk together pumpkin puree, milk, yogurt, butter, eggs, and vanilla. Pour liquid mixture over dry ingredients and stir until moist. Add chocolate chips and stir to combine.
3. Scoop batter evenly into donut pan, filling about 3/4-way full. Place into oven and bake 7-9 minutes, or until donuts are slightly browned and spring back when touched.
4. While donuts bake, make glaze by combining powdered sugar, cinnamon, maple syrup, and milk. Whisk until smooth. If the glaze is too thick, add more milk as needed. Once donuts have finished baking, let cool 10 minutes, then dip donut tops into glaze.

We loved these (especially the glaze! Amazing!), but I’m probably biased because I love everything about fall weekends, fall baking, etc. I made these with the windows open and a pumpkin candle burning, and we ate them snuggled up on the couch with coffee and football pregame on TV. I’d probably think kitty litter tasted good under those circumstances.

Happy fall, ya’ll!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Donuts w Maple Glaze | windykitchen

One thought on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Donuts with Maple Glaze

Leave a Reply

