Cornbread Waffle Tacos

Cornbread Waffle Tacos | windykitchen

Even though this blog now has more than two hundred recipes on it (!), this is not the only place where I keep track of recipes. Not by a long shot. The blog has recipes I’ve tried, enjoyed, managed to photograph, and felt were worth sharing…but I’ve got hundreds (thousands?) of other recipes in my files, most of which I haven’t tried yet.

As soon as I try a new recipe (and long before it shows up on the blog), I make a note in my file of what worked/didn’t work/etc. Stuff like, “needed salt,” “subbed peas for broccoli,” or “cut oil in half.” That kind of thing. I usually end up sharing that information with you guys, but I make an effort to clean it up and add exclamation marks and such. I figure you don’t have any use for the stream-of-consciousness-style notations I make for my eyes only.

However, I’m making an exception for these taco waffles. Direct from my personal files:

Liked a lot. Didn’t do water but should have, was possibly dry w/o. Served w/ tomatoes, green onions, cheddar cheese, and arrrrrrgh I forgot the shredded lettuce in the fridge fail fail fail. Fail at life. Used frozen onions.

Cornbread Waffle Tacos | windykitchen

CORNBREAD WAFFLE TACOS (adapted from Cinnamon Spice and Everything Nice)

Ingredients for the waffles:
1 and 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 and 1/4 cup yellow cornmeal
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
2 cups milk
3 tbsp vegetable oil
2 large eggs

Ingredients for the tacos:
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1/2 onion, diced (I used 1/2 cup frozen diced onions)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 pound ground beef
2 – 3 tablespoons homemade taco seasoning or 1 packet
1/2 cup water
2-3 tbsp reduced-sodium soy sauce
toppings as desired (shredded cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, green onions, avocados, salsa, etc.)

1. Preheat waffle iron according to manufacturer’s instructions, oiling it or coating it with nonstick spray as directed.
2. In large bowl, whisk together flour, cornmeal, baking powder, sugar, and salt. Add milk, oil, and eggs; stir until combined. Make waffles. To keep them warm while you prepare remaining ingredients, place them on a baking sheet in the oven set to the lowest possible heat until ready to eat.
3. Meanwhile, heat 1 tbsp vegetable oil in large skillet over medium-low heat. Add onion and garlic and cook 5 minutes until onion is translucent. Add ground beef and cook over medium heat, breaking apart as it cooks. Remove from heat and drain off grease (do not rinse).
4. Place skillet with beef/onions back over medium heat. Add taco seasoning, 1/2 cup water and soy sauce. Cook, stirring often, 6-8 minutes.
5. Serve taco meat over the waffles with desired toppings.

Yeah, these rocked. I wish I would have had guacamole with them (and hadn’t forgotten the flippin’ lettuce!), but that didn’t stop me from enjoying them a ton. If you want to keep things super simple, you could use frozen waffles (but I think homemade waffles are actually pretty easy to throw together). Don’t forget the lettuce!

Cornbread Waffle Tacos | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

