Nutella Scotcheroos

Nutella Scotcheroos | windykitchen

So I have this slightly awkward dilemma. Remember how I was all about Icona Pop earlier in the summer? That’s over. Now I’m all about Robin Thicke and literally can’t get enough of Blurred Lines. Is my taste in music cool and underground and intimidating? MAYBE SO, ACTUALLY, THANK YOU VERY MUCH, but that doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate whatever’s on the radio, particularly when whatever’s on the radio is so darn catchy.

Here’s my dilemma. A couple weeks ago, I was talking to someone/a few people/I don’t even remember who about how great Blurred Lines is. In the course of this conversation, I mentioned how much I loved the music video, how funny and tongue-in-cheek and perfectly spot-on I thought it was. And while I stand by that comment, I have to say that I made it without realizing that the video came in two versions: edited and unrated. I had — heh — only seen the edited version when I went on and on and on about how great it was. And, while I won’t link the unrated version, if you happen to google it, you might notice that it contains about 600% more bare breasts than the edited version. Not that that makes it bad, per se, just…not the kind of thing you would go on and on and on about loving. Am I too awkward to live? Perhaps.

So…when you realize that you inadvertently gushed about how much you loved a music video that you didn’t realize contained fairly thorough semi-nudity…and you don’t even remember who you did this gushing to…how do you address this? Just let it slide, knowing someone (or multiple people) probably think you’re kindof a loony weirdo? Actually, I guess that’s my only option at this point, since I don’t even remember who I was talking to.

…maybe I should take better note of my awkward interactions. Then I could at least attempt to reinstate my good image with a completely normal and totally non-awkward peace offering of scotcheroos.

Nutella Scotcheroos | windykitchen

NUTELLA SCOTCHEROOS (recipe from Cassie Craves)

1 cup sugar
1 cup light corn syrup
1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
1/2 cup Nutella
6 cups Rice Krispies (or Cocoa Puffs, if you want to go for a chocolate trifecta)
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup butterscotch chips

1. Butter or spray 9 x 13-inch baking pan with nonstick spray.
2. Heat large saucepan over medium heat, and bring sugar and corn syrup to a full boil. Remove from heat and stir in peanut butter and Nutella, then mix in Rice Krispies in until completely coated. Press mixture into greased pan, making sure top is smooth.
3. In small saucepan over lowest possible heat, melt chocolate and butterscotch chips together. Stir gently until smooth and well-blended, and immediately remove from heat. Spread chocolate/butterscotch mixture over rice krispie mixture and cool until set.

Nutella Scotcheroos | windykitchen

These are good, friends. Maybe even good enough to make me forget my awkwardness.

Leave a Reply

