Feta-Cilantro Turkey Burgers

Feta Cilantro Turkey Burgers | windykitchen

Here’s an early morning eye-opener for ya: apparently, we turn into our mothers at the ripe old age of 31.

Ouch, right?

Since I’m still a few years away from 31 (and since I don’t regard turning into my mother as the absolute worst thing in the world), I’m not all that alarmed by this news. In fact, I’m starting to notice myself creeping, slowly but surely, in that direction. And it’s not even that scary!

For just one example, my mom has always been very…diligent…about washing her hands. Touch a dog? Wash your hands! Thinking about having a snack? Wash your hands! Just walk into a restaurant and get seated at a table? Better immediately excuse yourself to wash your hands before the bread comes!

Of all the personality quirks to have, I admit this is a pretty good one — it’s healthy, it’s polite, and it helps prevent the spread of communicable disease. But until very recently, it wasn’t a quirk I thought I shared with her. I wash my hands at all the regular times, of course, but certainly not the second I set foot in a restaurant.

But then…not long after I started my first (real) job, I noticed myself making sure to wash my hands as soon as I got to work in the morning and as soon as I got home at night — i.e., immediately after getting off the subway. At first, I thought I was just being smart [the subway is gross!], but before too long, I found myself feeling physically uncomfortable if something prevented me from washing my hands at these times. Just like my mom.

Sigh.

It’s OK. Handwashing aside, I know I haven’t completely turned into my mom yet. For one thing, she would never eat these turkey burgers.

Girlfriend may like handwashing, but she can’t stand cilantro.

Feta Cilantro Turkey Burgers | windykitchen

FETA-CILANTRO TURKEY BURGERS (recipe from What’s For Dinner?)

1 and 1/4 pounds lean ground turkey
1 cup feta cheese, crumbled
1 cup chopped cilantro
salt, pepper, and cumin
4-6 hamburger buns
burger toppings: lettuce, tomato, onion, etc.

1. Mix turkey, feta, and cilantro in large bowl. Sprinkle generously with pepper and cumin; add a pinch of salt (the feta is pretty salty, so you don’t need very much). Form meat into 4-6 patties (depending on size preference).
2. Cook burgers either on grill or in skillet over medium high heat, cooking about 8 minutes per side, or until burgers reach internal temperature of 165 degrees. Serve on buns with fixins.

Super simple, super quick, super tasty.

Love you, mom : )

Feta Cilantro Turkey Burgers | windykitchen

One thought on “Feta-Cilantro Turkey Burgers

  1. Pingback: Homemade Honey Wheat Sandwich Buns | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

