Zucchini, Goat Cheese, and Black Bean Enchiladas

Black Bean Zucchini Goat Cheese Enchiladas | windykitchen

I need your help, friends. I need me some Netflix recommendations. We just signed up for Netflix for the first time last month so that we could watch the new Arrested Development episodes. It was a pretty joyous occasion, one peppered with exclamations of, “Look at all these shows!” and “I can’t believe this is only eight dollars a month!” and “Oh my GOD you mean I can watch it on my iPhone?!?”

But now that we’ve finished Arrested Development (or rather, I’ve finished it — it’s hard for my husband to keep up with his TV obligations when he’s working past midnight every night)…I’m not quite sure what to do next. Do other people have this problem with Netflix? I’m not anti-TV by any means — in fact, cooking dinner with Seinfeld reruns playing in the background is sometimes the highlight of my day. But that’s the key word — background. When you’re watching on a tiny computer screen instead of a big TV, the attention demanded of you is slightly different. I guess what I’m saying is that I like to pay about 60% attention to whatever I’m watching at any given time, and I’m finding that proclivity hard to square with Netflix.

So — any recommendations? So far I’ve watched a couple episodes of Louie and that ESPN 30 for 30 special about returning the official rules of basketball to Lawrence, Kansas (ROCK CHALK!). Actually, I’ve watched that special a couple of times now. So help me out — what do you like on Netflix? Bonus points for anything college basketball related.

In exchange, I offer this healthy, fresh, and delicious take on Mexican food. It makes great leftovers, too!

Black Bean Zucchini Goat Cheese Enchiladas | windykitchen

ZUCCHINI, GOAT CHEESE, AND BLACK BEAN ENCHILADAS (slightly adapted from The Way the Cookie Crumbles)

Ingredients for the enchiladas:
3 large zucchini, cut into 1/4-inch dice
1/2 an onion, coarsely chopped (use other half for sauce)
1 tbsp olive oil, divided
zest of 1 lemon
1 tsp kosher salt, plus more to taste
1 15-oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 6 oz package goat cheese, divided (I only had 4 oz, but 6 would obviously be better)
10-12 corn tortillas
chopped cilantro and diced avocado for serving (optional)

Ingredients for the sauce:
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 an onion, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 and 1/2 Tbsp chili powder
1/2 Tbsp cumin
1 tsp sugar
1/4 cup water
1 8-oz can tomato sauce
black pepper, to taste

1. Heat oven to 450 degrees. While oven preheats, sprinkle chopped zucchini with kosher salt and let sit for a few minutes, then squeeze with paper towels, wringing moisture out (you can skip this step, but it’ll make the zucchini less watery in the enchiladas).
2. On large rimmed baking sheet, combine zucchini, 1/2 chopped onion, oil, lemon zest, and salt. Roast, stirring occasionally, until zucchini is softened and lightly browned, about 25 minutes.
3. While zucchini roasts, heat 1 tsp canola oil in medium saucepan over medium heat. Add remaining 1/2 chopped onion and cook until onion is translucent and slightly browned, stirring occasionally, about 8 minutes. Add garlic, chili powder, cumin, and sugar; cook, stirring constantly, until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add water and tomato sauce. Increase heat to medium-high, bring to simmering, then reduce the heat to medium-low. Maintain low simmer until slightly thickened, 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
4. When zucchini has finished roasting, transfer it to large bowl and stir in black beans and 5 ounces of goat cheese (reserving 1 oz cheese for topping). Salt and pepper mixture to taste (and throw in some chili powder if you’re feelin’ sassy). Reduce oven temperature to 350 degrees.
5. To soften tortillas (so they don’t split apart when you roll them up), place 4 of them at a time on a microwave-safe plate, spreading them out so they overlap as little as possible. Cover with a wet paper towel and microwave on high for 20 seconds. Repeat with remaining tortillas.
6. To make enchiladas, spread a thin layer of sauce over the bottom of a 9×13-inch baking dish. Divide filling evenly between tortillas. Roll tortillas over filling, arranging filled tortillas seam-side down in baking dish (I had to squeeze mine in). Cover rolled tortillas with remaining enchilada sauce. Sprinkle remaining 1 ounce goat cheese over top of enchiladas. Bake uncovered for 25-30 minutes, until enchiladas are evenly heated. Let set for 5 minutes before serving with chopped avocado and cilantro.

Alright I KNOW I KNOW you’re not supposed to post recipes that involve a 450 degree oven in June, but, well…these are really good! And I made them in June without dying of heat exhaustion, so I think you probably can, too. Or bookmark the recipe for November, I’M NOT YOUR MOM!

Now. Netflix recommendations. Go!

Black Bean Zucchini Goat Cheese Enchiladas | windykitchen

7 thoughts on “Zucchini, Goat Cheese, and Black Bean Enchiladas

  1. First of all, you need to get an HDMI cable so you can watch Netflix on your tv (or at least have that option). The bigger screen makes a big difference in watching experience. Also, you know all those tv shows you’ve ever loved but been too ashamed to dvr? They’re almost all on Netflix (and are perfect for background watching)! It’s amazing! Gossip Girl? Check. Pretty Little Liars? Uh huh. Every documentary about any subject you can imagine? Oh yeah. Beware the documentary hole, once you start, it begins a spiral into all sorts of documentary topics and you risk sounding like THAT person at your next social gathering. Similarly, they have every movie you’ve been too embarrassed to actually pay money to watch, but were always kind of curious if they were entertaining. If for some weird reason you don’t have secret embarrassing taste in movies and tv, hey also have great shows like Scrubs.

    • Good tips! I actually think I have an HDMI cable somewhere that I don’t know what to do with, so that’ll be good. And Pretty Little Liars sounds like the perfect Netflix guilty pleasure! The TWOP recapper who used to recap Gossip Girl apparently recaps PLL now, and if it’s good enough for him, it’s good enough for me. Also I’m pretty sure I missed a whole season of Gossip Girl somehow, so I’ll add that to the to-do list, too.

    • Also, you like how I was super bossy in that comment, like I’m some sort of Netflix expert? Apologies. I was watching MSNBC in the background, I think the false bravado and assertiveness somehow affected me.

      • I DIDN’T notice that, but I’m jealous you’re at home with cable news on while I’m stuck at work like a chump! Have fun packing for Europe!

Leave a Reply

