Brazilian Shrimp Soup

Brazilian Shrimp Soup | windykitchen

This post is not going to be the first time I’ve whined about wanting to go on vacation, and the smart money’s on it not being the last, either. There are always a million reasons not to take a vacation, right? Money, planning, other commitments, etc. I have a bunch right now — my husband works a billion hours a week at his law firm, we’re trying to save money for X or Y or whatever, I don’t quite feel “swimsuit-ready,” etc. Also, my current job is the first one I’ve ever had where I actually get a set number of vacation days (weird, huh?), and apparently I have reacted to this by stingily hoarding those days like gold.

And now here’s the trump card to all that: this guy’s instagram feed. In short, I want to be this guy. Apparently he just travels the world with his smokin-hot girlfriend, and takes pictures of her leading him by one hand through some of the most epically gorgeous places on earth. I think the hashtag is #followmeto, but I’m not totally sure. I don’t really know how hashtags work.

[This is my favorite one, by the way. Nope, this one. I lied, it’s this one.]

So, in sum, I want to go to all of these places. Hong Kong, London, San Sebastian, Brazil…all the places.

In the meantime, I guess I’ll have to settle for a yummy bowl of Brazilian shrimp soup.

Brazilian Shrimp Soup | windykitchen

BRAZILIAN SHRIMP SOUP (slightly adapted from Annie’s Eats)

1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 yellow onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cup farro (can sub long-grain white rice)
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (or more to taste)
1 and 3/4 tsp salt
1 and 3/4 cups canned crushed tomatoes, undrained
5 cups water
1 cup canned unsweetened light coconut milk
1 and 1/2 lbs medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
pepper to taste (I also added garlic powder and onion powder)
juice of 1 lime
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

1. Heat olive oil in large stockpot or Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add onion, bell pepper, and garlic and cook until veggies are tender, about 7 minutes.
2. Add bulgur (or rice), red pepper flakes, salt, crushed tomatoes, and water to pot. Bring to boiling, reduce heat to simmer and cook, covered, for 10-12 minutes, or until bulgur is almost tender. Stir in coconut milk. Return pot to a simmer, then stir in shrimp.  Simmer just until the shrimp cooked through, about 3-5 minutes.
3. Off heat, stir in pepper (and any other seasonings), lemon juice, and cilantro.  Serve immediately.

This was really good and really filling. Pretty quick and healthy, too. It might not be soup weather anymore (or is it????), but something this tasty, quick, and healthy is never a bad idea.

Brazilian Shrimp Soup | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

