Quick Soy Marinated Pork Sandwiches

Soy Marinated Pork Sandwiches | windykitchen

When my husband and I are walking somewhere in the city (meeting friends at a restaurant, going to the grocery store, etc.), we often disagree about the proper route to take. Being the logical, practical guy that he is, he tends to gravitate toward the most direct route that gets us to our destination in the shortest amount of time. His argument is always airtight: it’s faster/shorter/more efficient/whatever.

Pretty hard to argue with, right? Except that I try to. I often find myself having a very strong opinion about the best route to take, except that my supporting argument usually boils down to stuff like, “This street is prettier!” Or, “I want to see how the construction on this block is going!” Or, “I like walking this way because it reminds me of X!” Or, “I don’t like walking this way because it reminds me of Y!” Basically, I have no supporting no argument. Which should theoretically stop me from arguing with him, but ha ha ha, right?

Another thing I have this problem with is magazine subscriptions. As you may have noticed from reading this blog, I really, really, really like Cooking Light magazine. The recipes are great, I always enjoy the articles, and I really just love the overarching philosophy of “let’s be healthy but not take it to any weird extremes, OK?”

Cooking Light

You’d think I would just subscribe to Cooking Light magazine so that I could pay $1 per issue instead of $4.99 per issue, saving a whopping 79%, right? That’s what my husband does — he likes to read Bloomberg Business Week (nerd alert!), and so he subscribes to it in order to receive a significant discount. Not this girl. I pay full retail at the grocery store checkout lane, because…well…it’s hard to explain. It’s important to me! I guess.

Besides, a recipe as quick and mouth-wateringly delicious as this one is worth the full retail price. And then some!

Soy Marinated Pork Sandwiches | windykitchen

QUICK SOY MARINATED PORK SANDWICHES (slightly adapted from Cooking Light)

1 and 1/2 tbsp brown sugar
1 and 1/2 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp Thai garlic chili paste (such as sambal oelek)
1-inch piece fresh ginger, peeled and grated
3/4 tsp sesame oil
12 oz pork tenderloin, trimmed of fat and sliced very thinly
2 tbsp rice vinegar
2 tsp canola oil, divided
1/4 tsp white sugar
1 cup shaved carrot (you can buy preshredded carrots or shave your own with a potato-peeler, like I did)
3 green onions, cut about diagonally into 1-inch pieces
1/4 cup fresh cilantro leaves
4 hamburger buns
1 and 1/2 tbsp butter, divided

1. Combine first six ingredients (brown sugar through sesame oil) in medium bowl, stirring to combine. Add sliced pork to bowl and toss well to coat. Let pork marinate 15 minutes at room temperature (stick it in the fridge if you’re going to let it marinate any longer).
2. Preheat oven broiler to high.
3. While pork marinates, combine vinegar, 1 tsp canola oil, and white sugar in medium bowl, stirring to combine. Add carrots, onion, and cilantro; toss to coat. Set aside.
4. Heat large skillet over medium-high heat. Add remaining 1 tsp canola oil to pan, swirling to coat. Add pork and cook 3 minutes or until done, turning occasionally.
5. While pork cooks, place hamburger buns on baking sheet, cut side up. Spread each bun with thin layer of butter. Broil buns about 1 minute, or until lightly toasted.
6. Top bottom halves of buns evenly with pork. Divide carrot mixture evenly among sandwiches. Serve warm.

Yowza this was good! And extremely quick! I made the carrot mixture up the night before and just whipped it out when it was time to eat. We also had these with homemade hamburger buns, which made everything extra good.

Soy Marinated Pork Sandwiches | windykitchen

2 thoughts on “Quick Soy Marinated Pork Sandwiches

  1. Pingback: Oh What a Year It’s Been! (Top 13 Recipes of 2013) | windykitchen

  2. Pingback: Homemade Honey Wheat Sandwich Buns | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

