Meatless Monday: Thai Veggie Green Curry with Rice Cakes

Thai Veggie Green Curry w Rice Cakes | windykitchen

Are you the type of person who can listen to the same song over and over and over again? I’m usually not, but every so often I’ll become obsessed with one particular song and listen to it nonstop for about three weeks, after which point I never want to hear it again.

The first song I remember doing this with was this one, which I listened to 24/7 for a couple weeks in college. Then a few years ago, I got obsessed with this song, which was really too bad, because it’s impossible for a normal human to sing along to it without sounding like a howling, screeching buffoon. Shortly after that, it was this song, which caused me to do this weird little shoulder-shake and finger-point dance that was truly regrettable.

I’m in another song obsession loop right now, and I’m hoping to shake it soon. This one doesn’t make me dance weird, but it does make me kindof scrunch up my face and silently shout, which I’m sure my fellow subway riders could do without.

Anyway. After that musical digression, let’s get to the food. This curry dish is super healthy, packed with veggies (including the ickiest one, cauliflower), and as far as I can tell, it’s even vegan (if you don’t count the rice cakes. and the fish sauce. OK, never mind, not vegan).

Well. In the words of my new favorite song, “I DON’T CARE! I LOVE IT!”

Thai Veggie Green Curry w Rice Cakes | windykitchen

THAI VEGGIE GREEN CURRY WITH RICE CAKES (slightly adapted from The America’s Test Kitchen Quick Family Cookbook)

2 tbsp vegetable oil
1/2 cauliflower head, cut into 1-inch pieces
3 tbsp Thai green curry paste (such as Thai Kitchen brand, found in international aisle)
1 14-oz can light coconut milk (such as Thai Kitchen brand – in international aisle)
2 tbsp Asian fish sauce
1 tbsp brown sugar
2 zucchini, cut into 3/4-inch pieces
1 red bell pepper, cut into matchsticks
8 oz sugar snap peas, strings removed
juice of 2 limes
salt and pepper
4 cups cooked rice (preferably jasmine rice)
1 egg
2 tbsp flour

1. Heat 1 tbsp oil in large Dutch oven or stock pot over medium-high heat until shimmering. Add cauliflower and curry paste and cook until cauliflower begins to soften, about 5 minutes. Stir in coconut milk, fish sauce, and sugar; bring to a simmer. Stir in zucchini, bell pepper, and snap peas, cover, and cook, stirring occasionally, until veggies are just tender – about 4 minutes. Uncover and cook until sauce thickens slightly, about 2 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in lime juice. Salt and pepper to taste.
2. While curry cooks, pulse 2 cups rice in food processor until coarsely ground, about 12 pluses. Add ground rice to large bowl with remaining 2 cups rice. Stir in egg, flour, 3/4 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper. Using your hands, pack rice mixture into 4 patties.
3. Heat remaining 1 tbsp oil in large nonstick skillet over medium high heat until shimmering. Add rice patties and cook until crisp and browned on both sides, about 3 minutes per side. Serve rice cakes with vegetable curry.

So good and healthy! And I loved the rice cakes — they tasted great on their own, and I love how they provided for automatic portion control. This was a very satisfying vegetarian dinner.

Thai Veggie Green Curry w Rice Cakes | windykitchen

3 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Thai Veggie Green Curry with Rice Cakes

  1. Pingback: Coconut Quinoa with Kale and Tropical Pesto | windykitchen

  2. Pingback: Veggie-Full Recipe Roundup: Broccoli and Carrots and Spinach, Oh My! | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

