Jalapeno Popper Turkey Burgers

Jalapeno Popper Turkey Burgers | windykitchen

Anyone else out there completely paranoid when it comes to cooking poultry? It terrifies me. My meat thermometer (a wedding gift from my husband’s brother, thanks Mike!) is one of my most-used kitchen utensils. I can’t remember the last time I cooked and served poultry without checking the temperature. Or googling “safe internal temperature chicken/turkey/etc.” How else do you know when it’s done??? Cook times mean nothing to me.

This safe-meat-temp issue is (in my mind) the only thing regular beef hamburgers have over turkey burgers. When you’re dealing with beef, you just cook it until it looks doneish, and then you chow down! I wish that were the case with turkey burgers, because I like them better in almost all other respects.

If you’re with me in loving turkey burgers (and owning a well-loved meat thermometer), you should probably give these jalapeno popper turkey burgers a try. The jalapeno gives them a slight kick, while the cream cheese keeps them nice and moist (even with 99% lean ground turkey). If you’re feeling sassy, you could even mix in a little buffalo sauce or sriracha into the patties before you cook them. Everything is better with sriracha!

Jalapeno Popper Turkey Burgers | windykitchen

JALAPENO POPPER TURKEY BURGERS (recipe from Sarcastic Cooking)

2 jalapeno peppers, seeded and minced
1 tbsp cilantro, chopped
juice of one lime (about 1 tbsp juice)
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2 oz cold cream cheese, cubed
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese, divided
1 lb lean ground turkey
1 tbsp olive oil
4 hamburger buns (I used these yummy salted pretzel rolls)
desired toppings: lettuce, tomato, crispy bacon, buffalo sauce, sriracha, etc.

1. In large mixing bowl, combine jalapenos, cilantro, lime juice, salt, pepper, half of the shredded mozzarella, and ground turkey. Using your hands (or a spatula), mix until well combined. Fold in cold cream cheese.
2. Form turkey mixture into four equal patties. Chill patties until ready to cook.
3. Heat olive oil in large skillet over medium heat until shimmering. Add turkey burgers and cook for about five minutes on each side (until they reach internal temperature of 165).
4. Reduce heat to low, top each burger with small handful of remaining mozzarella, and cover skillet with a lid. Cook until cheese melts, about two minutes.
5. Serve each turkey burger on a bun, along with desired toppings. We used sriracha, but I think bacon would be the best possible idea.

Jalapeno Popper Turkey Burgers | windykitchen

So. Pretty gosh-darn good. We actually made six turkey burgers from these quantities (instead of four), but that’s just because I like my burgers a little smaller.

Jalapeno Popper Turkey Burgers | windykitchen

5 thoughts on “Jalapeno Popper Turkey Burgers

  1. These look awesome! I’m super paranoid when cooking poultry too. I wash my hands a gazillions times and constantly check the doneness and have to immediately scrub anything that comes in contact with the raw poultry……kinda makes me feel like I have OCD.

    • Ha, I know exactly what you mean. I don’t mind the constant handwashing TOO much, but I do get annoyed when I run out of dishsoap approximately two weeks after I buy a new bottle…

  2. Pingback: Grill Time: The 15 Best Burger Recipes Ever | HiConsumption

Leave a Reply

