Meatless Monday: Sweet Potato Red Pepper Pasta

Sweet Potato Red Pepper Pasta | windykitchen

A few days ago, I was rushing off to work in the morning when I somehow managed to remember that I had leftovers of this yummy pasta in the fridge, which I thought would make a great take-to-work lunch. Proud of myself for being so adult and responsible, I took a few minutes to dish out some pasta into a pyrex container and throw it into my purse.

In retrospect, that was the worst decision I made all day.

Had I not taken the time to pack myself a nutritious lunch, I would have gotten to the subway about three minutes earlier that morning. Had I gotten to the subway three minutes earlier, I would have caught an earlier train. Had I caught an earlier train, I would have avoided getting stuck underground for 45 minutes due to a “mechanical failure.” I also would have avoided having to evacuate the train while underground, traipsing through underground train car after underground train car until I finally arrived at a subway platform absolutely teeming with angry, frustrated travelers. And I wouldn’t have been an hour late to work.

Apparently the whole ordeal was caused by a minor mechanical problem that would have been fairly quick to fix, except for some genius who was in such a hurry that he stormed the train’s emergency exit after it had been stalled for about 5 minutes. Unauthorized emergency exits take a little longer to clean up, apparently.

Sweet Potato Red Pepper Pasta | windykitchen

SWEET POTATO RED PEPPER PASTA (slightly adapted from Eating Well)

8 oz angel hair pasta
1 tbsp olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium sweet potato, peeled and shredded on a box grater
1 large red bell pepper, thinly sliced
2 medium tomatoes, diced
1/2 cup water
2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
1 tbsp chopped fresh tarragon (or other herb – I subbed in sage)
1-2 tbsp white-wine vinegar or lemon juice
salt and pepper to taste
4 oz goat cheese, crumbled

1. Bring large pot of salted water to boil. Cook pasta according to package directions (about 4 to 5 minutes). Drain pasta and return to pot, reserving about 1/2 cup pasta water.
2. Meanwhile, place 1 tablespoon oil and garlic in large skillet. Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until garlic is sizzling and fragrant, 2 to 5 minutes. Add sweet potato, bell pepper, tomatoes and 1/2 cup water and cook, stirring occasionally, until bell pepper is tender-crisp, 5 to 7 minutes. Remove from the heat; cover and keep warm.
3. When pasta is finished cooking, add vegetable mixture, parsley, tarragon, vinegar (or lemon juice), and cheese to pot with pasta, tossing to combine. Add reserved pasta water, a little bit at a time, to achieve desired consistency. Salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately.

When I was making this, I noticed that the goat cheese I purchased was actually goat cheese with honey instead of just regular goat cheese. I was positive everything would be ruined, but it actually tasted pretty good — there was a slight sweetness that worked kindof well with the sweet potatoes. Next time I’ll definitely use regular goat cheese, as I think that’d be even better. This is a great way to eat your colors!

Sweet Potato Red Pepper Pasta | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

