Cheeseburger Soup

Cheeseburger Soup | windykitchen

Do you have a PERFECT CHEESEBURGER? Like, a cheeseburger you would request on your deathbed?

Mine goes like this: sourdough bun, toasted, with butter (obvi). All-beef burger cooked medium-rare. Then melted pepperjack cheese and crispy bacon, followed by crispy fried onions (the kind from a can, I know) and some sort of artery-clogging chipotle-ranch sauce.

And for my final request — the burger would be exactly the size of one bite.

Is anyone else like this? Am I a freak here? I love a delicious burger, but for some reason, burgers are the one food that completely satisfies me after one bite. One delicious bite of a burger and I am more than happy to move on to something else.

[I understand that this is actually a pretty good “problem” to have. However — why can’t I have it with cheesecake? Or cheese? Or bread? Or chips and salsa? I would probably pay upwards of an entire year’s rent for the ability to be completely satisfied by one bite of chips and salsa. Sheesh.]

Given my…peculiar…feelings about cheeseburgers, I thought it might be fun to give a cheeseburger soup a try. I’ve seen lots of different recipes for it, but I liked this one because it didn’t use any processed cheese products.

Cheeseburger Soup IV | windykitchen

CHEESEBURGER SOUP (adapted from Dinners Dishes & Desserts)

1 pound lean ground beef
1/2 white onion, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
3 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
3 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 15-oz can tomato sauce
1/4 cup flour
1 and 1/2 cups milk (I used skim)
2 cups freshly grated cheddar cheese (pre-shredded won’t melt as well)
2 tbsp mustard
1/4 cup ketchup
1 cup frozen corn kernels
sriracha to taste (optional, if you like things spicier)
salt and pepper to taste
toppings as desired — chopped onions, pickles, additional cheese, crumbled bacon, etc.

1. In large stock pot, brown ground beef over medium high heat. Once it begins to brown, add onions and garlic. Cook until the meat is no longer pink and onions are soft. Drain beef in colander (do not rinse); return to pot.
2. Stir in Worcestershire sauce, tomato sauce, and chicken broth.Bring to simmering.
3. In small bowl or liquid measuring cup, whisk together milk and flour until smooth. Slowly stir into simmering soup, stirring to combine. Cook until soup starts to thicken slightly.
4. Add shredded cheddar cheese, half a cup at a time, stirring after each addition. Once the cheese is incorporated, stir in mustard, ketchup, salt and pepper. corn, and sriracha (if using). Cover and simmer for 10 minutes.
5. Serve soup with desired garnish.

I definitely can’t say that I stopped after one bite of this soup. This was a big hit in my house, especially with my husband, who doesn’t get red meat as often as he would like. It really had all the flavors of a cheeseburger (even the ketchup and mustard!) without any one flavor overpowering you (meaning, no, this soup does not taste like ketchup and mustard). Also, I realize that corn is not a very cheeseburgery-ingredient, but I just couldn’t bear to make a recipe with this much cheese and no veggies. If you’re morally opposed to veggies and want to make a substitution, might I suggest crispy, crumbled bacon?

Note – the original recipe mentioned that this freezes well, but I didn’t have enough left over to try!

One thought on “Cheeseburger Soup

Leave a Reply

