Lemon Dill Chicken with Gorgonzola Risotto

Lemon Dill Chicken with Gorgonzola Risotto | windykitchen

Everyone remember the whole David Petraeus scandal that went down last year? How a decorated, four-star general resigned after it came out that he was having an affair with–of all people–the woman who wrote his biography?

If it’s hard for you to keep track of all the powerful men who resign from their jobs in disgrace following sex scandals, I don’t blame you. I lose track, too.

Anyway, there were a lot of weird/interesting things that came out of that whole deal, but the most interesting thing to me was how Petraeus and his girlfriend would send each other “secret” messages in the drafts folder of a shared email account. I couldn’t believe it — they had stumbled upon my secret for making grocery lists!

I’ll admit that it never occurred to me to use the drafts folder of my email account to send inappropriate messages to my lovers (wonder why), but I can vouch for it being an excellent way to keep track of your weekly grocery list. It works really well for me — I can type out my initial list on my laptop (rather than finding a pen and paper or trying to key in large amounts of text on my iphone), and if I have an ahh I’m out of olive oil! moment later on, I can add that to the draft from wherever I am — home computer, work computer, iphone. Once I make it to the grocery store, I can just check the list from my phone.

I used to actually send myself an email with my grocery list each week, but that got too messy when I’d want to go in and add/subtract items from the list. Too many e-mails flying back and forth between me and me. Keeping everything as a draft lets you save it instantly, access it anywhere, and make changes without cluttering up your inbox.

And apparently, it also allows you to flirt back and forth with your married boyfriend. Though I can’t vouch for that personally.

What I can vouch for is that you should add some fresh dill, some lemon, and some gorgonzola dulce to your draft email folder and get busy making this dinner.

Lemon Dill Chicken with Gorgonzola Risotto | windykitchen

LEMON DILL CHICKEN WITH GORGONZOLA RISOTTO (chicken recipe from Eating Well; risotto recipe from Pictures and Pancakes)

For the chicken:
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
salt and pepper to taste
3 tsp olive or canola oil, divided
1/2 white onion, minced (use other half for risotto)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup low-sodium chicken broth
2 tsp flour
2 tbsp fresh dill, chopped and divided
1 tbsp lemon juice

1. Season chicken breasts on both sides with salt and pepper. Heat 1 and 1/2 tsp oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken and sear until well browned on both sides, about 3 minutes per side. Transfer chicken to plate and tent with foil.
2. Reduce heat to medium. Add remaining 1 and 1/2 tsp oil to pan. Add onion and garlic and cook, stirring, for about a minute. Whisk broth, flour, 1 tbsp dill and lemon juice in measuring cup and add to pan. Cook, whisking, until slightly thickened, about 3 minutes.
3. Return chicken and any accumulated juices to pan. Reduce heat to low and simmer until chicken is cooked through, about 4 minutes. Season sauce with salt and pepper. To serve, pour sauce over chicken and top with remaining dill. Serve with risotto.

For the risotto:
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 white onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 cup arborio rice
4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1/2 to 1 cup water
1/2 cup milk or cream
8 oz gorgonzola dulce cheese, crumbled in a few pieces
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
salt and pepper to taste
parmesan cheese for garnish

1. Heat olive oil in medium pot over medium high heat. Add onion and saute 5-8 minutes or until translucent. Add garlic and cook 2 more minutes. Add rice and stir to coat with oil, cooking 1 minute.
2. Add 1 cup broth and stir constantly until all of the liquid is absorbed by the rice. Add remaining broth, 1/2 cup at a time, stirring until each portion is absorbed and rice is tender. Add water 1/4 cup at a time if rice is not tender enough after 4 cups broth have been added (I found I didn’t need the water). Reduce heat to low and stir in milk/cream and gorgonzola. Stir and cook until thickened. Remove from heat, add walnuts if using and season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve with chicken, garnished with parmesan cheese.

When a chicken dish is this easy to whip up, I feel like it deserves a fancier side dish like this delicioussss risotto. I loved the flavor the gorgonzola gave the risotto — my husband and I both agreed that it had a slightly beer-y flavor, although we weren’t quite sure why or how. And, OK, I understand that there aren’t any vegetables in this dinner. Sorry. But it’s so good! And compared to dragging your entire family through a painful, public sex scandal, what’s so bad about serving one little veggie-less dinner?

Lemon Dill Chicken with Gorgonzola Risotto | windykitchen

5 thoughts on “Lemon Dill Chicken with Gorgonzola Risotto

  1. mmm…sounds so good. Just reading the chicken recipe made my mouth water! But I’ve never heard of gorgonzola dulce cheese. Don’t know where to even start to look for it!

    • I’m not sure they’d have this at Price Chopper — probably Hen House though. But be careful — gorgonzola dulce is basically a creamier blue cheese, so if you don’t want blue cheese, might wanna skip this one!

      • Ah ha-you were right. I stopped by a Hen House on my lunch hour – and by the third cheese display, i FORGOT what I was looking for! However, after re-reading the recipe tonight – I am quite sure that gorgonzola cheese was available – – just can’t recall seeing any “dulce” reference. Best write it down and try it again! Man – I hate getting old!

Leave a Reply

