Meatless Monday: Veggie Avocado Toss

Veggie Avocado Toss | windykitchen

So this may make some of your roll your eyes, but lately I’ve been seriously thinking about doing a juice cleanse. Maybe I’m just getting older, but I’ve noticed more and more that eating poorly really makes me feel yuck in a very noticeable way. Whether it’s gorging on takeout pizza or Thai food, eating too much cheese, or knocking back one too many sugar-filled margaritas, it all catches up with me these days. Getting older, man. Do not want.

I don’t actually know how much a juice cleanse would counteract my love for greasy pad Thai or cheese, but doesn’t it sound so great in theory? The idea of removing all the toxins from your body and getting to your most healthy, perfect, tip-top-shape self? I’d love to hear about anyone’s experiences juice-cleansing. I’ve been researching this one and have even tried some of the juices (they’re good!). I wish it weren’t so expensive, though!

Anyway, if you’re not up for an entire juice cleanse, but still want something oh-so-very-healthy that makes your insides sing with gratitude, I’ve got just the thing for you. Does this taste as delicious as cheesy pizza or Things That Are Fried But Make You Feel Like Issh? Well, no. But it tastes pretty decent (direct quote from my husband: “Hmm. I like the raisins.”), and it’ll definitely make your insides sing.

Veggie Avocado Toss | windykitchen

VEGGIE AVOCADO TOSS (adapted from Daily Bites)

For the salad:
2 cups broccoli florets
2 cups cauliflower florets
2 medium carrots, peeled and diced
3-4 green onions, chopped
1/2 cup sunflower or pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup raisins, golden raisins, or dried currants

For the dressing:
1/2 avocado, pitted
1/2 cup fresh basil leaves, lightly packed
zest and juice of one orange
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tbsp olive oil
1/4 tsp garlic powder
kosher salt, to taste

1. Pulse broccoli and cauliflower in food processor until finely chopped (I did this in batches since my food processor is small). Transfer to large bowl. Add carrots, green onions, seeds, and raisins/currants to bowl. Set aside.
2. Clean out bowl of food processor (carefully!). Scoop avocado flesh into bowl of the food processor; add basil, orange juice and zest, vinegar, olive oil, and granulated powder. Process until thick and creamy, stopping once or twice to scrape down sides of the bowl with rubber spatula. Salt to taste.
3. Pour dressing over salad ingredients and toss to coat. Serve immediately.

I loved how great I felt after eating this. The dressing had lots of interesting flavors and would be great on other stuff, too!

3 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Veggie Avocado Toss

  1. If people roll their eyes about juicing, then they don’t know what they’re missing! I’ve been juicing as a supplement for the past couple of months and feel better than ever. While supplementing my diet with juice, I’ve been cutting back on sugar and processed foods, so I’m cleansing in my own sort of way. I’ve thought about doing a 7-day juice cleanse, but I’m not up for it yet. Have you watched Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead? It’s a fantastic documentary about juicing and cleansing!

  2. Pingback: Coconut Quinoa with Kale and Tropical Pesto | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

