Black Bean Hummus

Black Bean Hummus 1 | windykitchen

A couple of weeks ago, I was talking with some girls at work about workday lunch options. For how often I cook dinner, I completely suck at packing healthful lunches or even throwing a Tupperware container full of leftovers in my bag before I leave each morning. Part of the reason I’ve gotten so lazy is that my office has a very well-stocked pantry, and four days out of five I just end up grabbing a granola bar and a bag of these hummus chips that I’ve recently become obsessed with (and that I fervently hope do not get discontinued).

Anyway, one of the girls brought up the idea of bringing hummus or some other dip for lunch and taking advantage of the ample supply of chips and carrot sticks in our pantry. I was actually pretty intrigued by that idea — I like to keep my lunches fairly light (and ideally vegetarian), and that would be an easy and tasty way to get some veggies and protein at lunch. Plus, you wouldn’t have to worry about heating anything up or packing a ton of stuff. And, as she pointed out, eating dip for lunch kindof makes it feel like you’re at a party! (note: not really)

If you’re at all intrigued by the dip-for-lunch option, I have to strongly recommend this black bean hummus. I made this on a Friday night for something snacky to munch on, and by Sunday it was all gone and I was so sad that I promptly whipped up another batch. And, as the prophesy foretold, ate it for lunch. Me making the same recipe twice in one weekend is about the highest praise I can bestow. So. You know.  You should probably make this ASAP.

Black Bean Hummus 2 | windykitchen

BLACK BEAN HUMMUS (adapted from Cooking Light)

1/2 cup fresh cilantro, roughly chopped
1 tbsp tahini (sesame paste, found in international aisle)
1 tbsp water
1 tbsp olive oil
1 lime, juiced
3/4 tsp ground cumin
salt to taste
1 15-oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 garlic clove, peeled
1 small jalapeño pepper, roughly chopped (seeds removed if you like less heat)

Add all ingredients to bowl of food processor. Process until well combined and creamy, scraping down sides of bowl once or twice. Serve with pita bread, chips, veggies, or your favorite accompaniment.

I know the term “hummus” may turn some people off, but this is really just a delicious, spicy black bean dip with lots of bright flavors. If you can’t find tahini or if you don’t want to have anything to do with traditional hummus, you could try omitting the tahini or even subbing in peanut butter (I haven’t done this myself so I can’t vouch for the substitutions). But either way, you should definitely give this a try, because I couldn’t stop eating it!

4 thoughts on “Black Bean Hummus

  1. Pingback: Spicy Sriracha White Bean Dip | windykitchen

  2. Pingback: Coconut Quinoa with Kale and Tropical Pesto | windykitchen

  3. Pingback: Buffalo Chicken Potato Casserole | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

