Oatmeal Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies – and Windy Kitchen Turns One!

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies | windykitchen

So the Internet tells me that today is my little food blog’s first birthday! Pretty cool, considering three years ago I was eating Lean Cuisines for dinner every night and I let a full month go by before I ever even told anyone I was “blogging.” So — hooray, blogiversary! Man, I sure have eaten a lot of stuff.

I feel like I must point out that I don’t actually know whether today is the right day. My first post is dated March 5, 2012, but my laptop stopped being able to tell the time or date about two years ago. Eventually I figured out that I had to go in and manually change my date and time settings every so often so that websites would respond to me correctly, but I don’t think I had figured that out by this time last year. So it might have been March 4 or 6 or 7, but close enough for some celebratory cookies, right? And maybe even worth buying a new laptop — this little guy is almost 4 years old, and he’s really starting to show his age.

Enough babbling from me. Cookie time!

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies | windykitchen

OATMEAL PEANUT BUTTER SANDWICH COOKIES (slightly adapted from All Recipes)

Ingredients for the cookies:
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup quick-cooking oats

Ingredients for the peanut butter cream:
3 tbsp butter, softened
1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
2-3 tbsp heavy cream, half-and-half, or milk

Ingredients for the chocolate:
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 tbsp butter
2 tbsp heavy cream, half-and-half, or milk
sprinkles (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. In medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Stir to combine.
3. In large bowl, cream together 1/2 cup (1 stick) softened butter, 1/2 cup peanut butter, white sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla. Add egg and beat well.
4. Add dry ingredients to the creamed mixture, stirring to combine. Add oatmeal and stir.
5. Drop dough by teaspoons onto greased baking sheet, and press each mound down with a fork to form 1/4 inch thick cookies. Try to make the cookies as uniform and circular as possible — it’ll make the sandwiches look prettier. Bake cookies at 350 for 9-10 minutes, or until cookies are light brown.
6. While cookies are baking, cream 3 tablespoons butter with powdered sugar, 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter, and cream/half-and-half/milk. Once cookies have baked and cooled, spread filling onto half of the cooled cookies, then top with the other half to form sandwiches.
7. Combine chocolate chips, 1 tablespoon butter, and 2 tablespoons cream/half-and-half/milk in a small saucepan and heat over medium-low heat, stirring. Once melted, remove from heat. Dip sandwich cookies halfway in melted chocolate and let dry on wax paper. Top with sprinkles if desired.

Yield: about 12 sandwich cookies

I love these cookies. They take a couple of steps, but nothing about it is hard or complicated — and they taste amazing and look a little more special than your average cookie.

Even though I’ve made these a couple of times and have a whole year of foodblogging under my belt, I still managed to eff these up royally the last time I tried to make them. You know how one stick of butter is equal to half a cup? Yeah, I know that, too, but somehow I saw the “1/2 cup butter” in the ingredient list and thought “ah, remember, that’s two sticks of butter!” It definitely is not, and I made sure to add the “one stick!” cautionary language up there to help you avoid a similar (boneheadded) problem.

(For what it’s worth, these are not inedible with double the butter, they’re just not very pretty and can’t really be made into sandwiches. Not that I tried them or anything….)

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies | windykitchen

8 thoughts on “Oatmeal Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies – and Windy Kitchen Turns One!

  1. Looks amazing and sounds so tasty. Will have to make these!

    And congratulations on year number one! WhooHoo!

  2. Happy Blog Anniversary and Happy Women’s Herstory Month..another laugh out loud moment. Really enjoy your blog, Jaci!

  3. Pingback: Meatless Monday: Lentil Marinara with Whole Wheat Spaghetti and Mint | windykitchen

  4. Pingback: Chubby Hubby Bars (and windykitchen turns two!) | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

