Meyer Lemon Baked Donuts with Lemon Icing

273b meyer lemon donuts

A few weeks ago I learned something incredible — women look their absolute worst at 3:30 p.m. on Wednesdays. Doesn’t that sound both crazy and also 100% true? According to the study, the wine you (probably) drank Saturday night, combined with the poor night’s sleep you (probably) got on Monday, combined with the extra stress you (probably) feel by midweek all converge on your face by Wednesday afternoon to combine for maximum ugliness. I mean, that’s some solid science right there. I totally buy it.

One thing these “researchers” didn’t consider that they probably should have is that many women spend their Wednesday afternoons under the exceedingly unflattering fluorescent lighting of the modern American office building. Woof, right? Practically every time I’m washing my hands in the bathroom at my office, I’m simultaneously thinking, “yeeeeesh, do I really look like that? Are my teeth really that yellow? Is my skin that dull and lined?” And then I get home and see myself under normal lighting and let out a mental sigh of relief. Fluorescent lighting, man. No bueno.

Proper lighting may be important to my self-esteem (cuz I’m vain and all), but it’s absolutely crucial to food photography. See these donuts? Don’t they look yummy and appetizing? That’s because (1) they were, and (2) I made them on a Sunday morning with tons of natural light streaming through my windows. No 3:30 Wednesday lighting for these bad boys!

273a meyer lemon donuts

MEYER LEMON BAKED DONUTS WITH LEMON ICING (recipe from Prevention RD)

1 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup skim milk
juice and zest of 1 Meyer lemon
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup agave nectar
2 egg whites
2 tbsp canola oil

For the icing:
1 cup powdered sugar
juice and zest of 1/2 Meyer lemon
nonfat milk (to thin icing as desired)
shredded coconut or sprinkles for topping (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 375. Coat donut pan with non-stick cooking spray.
2. In medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. In separate bowl, whisk together milk, lemon juice and zest, vanilla, agave, egg whites, and oil. Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix until just combined.
3. Fill donut wells half way with batter. Bake 10-12 minutes, or until donuts spring back lightly when touched. Meanwhile, prepare icing by whisking powdered sugar with lemon juice and zest, adding milk as needed to achieve desired consistency. Set aside.
4. Allow donuts to cool for about 5 minutes before removing from pan, then remove to wire rack to finish cooling. Drizzle each donut with icing, sprinkle with coconut/sprinkles if desired, and serve immediately.

These were such a fun treat! The Meyer lemon icing was to die for — I had honestly never used Meyer lemons before, but I’ve seen so many food bloggers go gaga over them that I knew I had to try them once they came in season. They have a very distinctive flavor — like a sweetened cross between a lemon and an orange. Honestly, these tasted like candy!

273c meyer lemon donuts

2 thoughts on “Meyer Lemon Baked Donuts with Lemon Icing

Leave a Reply

