Crockpot Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic

Crockpot Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic 1 | windykitchen

Remember a couple of years ago when everyone figured out that you could see what age and gender Google thought you were based on your search history? I don’t know if you can still access that information, but I checked back then, and Google definitely had my number — female aged 25-34. Must’ve been the 14,000 food blogs I read every day. And my Kate Middleton news alert. And my frequent visits to the Tiffany website.

You know what, it could’ve been a number of things.

Given my extremely estrogeny Internet habits, I don’t usually ever visit Reddit, which in my mind is like a virtual version of the Get Rid Of Slimy GirlS club. But apparently Reddit has more than memes and objectification of underage girls — it has recipes! One of my (male, Reddit-using) friends told me the other day that he made last year’s top-rated recipe on Reddit, and it actually sounded really, really tasty, so I figured I’d give it a try. SUCCESS!

Crockpot Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic 2 | windykitchen

CROCK POT CHICKEN WITH 40 CLOVES OF GARLIC (barely adapted from Crepes of Wrath)

3 and 1/2 to 4 pound fryer chicken (chicken cut into serving pieces)
salt and pepper to taste
1 tbsp olive oil
40 cloves garlic, peeled but still whole (a little more than 3 bulbs)
3/4 cup white wine
1 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp dried rosemary
1 bay leaf
1 tbsp butter

1. Coat chicken with salt and pepper and place in crockpot.
2. Heat olive oil in large skillet over medium heat. Add peeled garlic and cook 5-8 minutes, until garlic is golden and fragrant. Stir in white wine and cook, stirring, until liquid has mostly evaporated, about 5 minutes.
3. Pour garlic/wine mixture over chicken in crockpot. Sprinkle with thyme and rosemary; add bay leaf. Turn crockpot to low and cook 3-4 hours or until chicken reaches 165 degrees. When finished cooking, remove chicken and place on plate, tenting with tinfoil to keep warm.
4. Pour juices from crockpot through mesh sieve into a pot, then press garlic through sieve to form paste. Add paste to pot and cook along with butter over medium-high heat until gravy thickens, about 5 minutes. Serve chicken with sauce, preferably over mashed potatoes or crusty bread.

This was such a down-homey feeling dinner, and it was pretty easy to make. Two notes — one, I decided to use three chicken breasts instead of a full bird. This worked, but I would suggest checking your chicken after 2 and 1/2 hours to make sure it doesn’t dry out, since chicken breasts have a tendency to do that. And two, I suggest following my friend’s instructions below and doubling the sauce. I promise you’ll end up wanting more!

Crockpot Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic | windykitchen

Smart guy. Finger-licking-good chicken.

5 thoughts on “Crockpot Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic

  1. I’ve never heard of that Google thing! I just found the article about it from Gawker though, and they definitely had me pegged. Basically the only categories Google thought I was interested in were food and recipes. Fair enough. Uhhhh, and 40 cloves of garlic? Sign me up for this!

Leave a Reply

