Cayenne-Rubbed Chicken with Avocado Salsa

Cayenne Rubbed Chicken with Avocado Salsa | windykitchen

Was it just me, or were the Super Bowl commercials kindof disappointing this year? That GoDaddy commercial with Bar Refaeli was one of the worst things I’ve ever seen — not just on TV but in all of life. The Doritos commercial was dumb, too. And everyone seemed to (understandably) love the God Made a Farmer commercial, and I agree that it was cool, but I was confused when it ended up being for the Dodge Ram.

Either way, this Taco Bell commercial redeemed the whole thing for me. I actually saw this in the Thai restaurant next to our apartment as I was waiting to pick up our takeout (we were out of town all weekend and I didn’t get in the kitchen to make any awesome Super Bowl snacks, but that’s a whole other story). I was…mesmerized. “We Are Young” in Spanish is so good!

Even though Taco Bell had a great commercial, I have long been on record as hating their food. So how about something in the Taco Bell vein of being vaguely “Mexican” and “TexMex,” but a thousand times better and fresher and less likely to kill you? This is super quick and easy, and if you’re like me and keep avocados in the house at all times, you probably have all the ingredients in your kitchen right now!

CAYENNE-RUBBED CHICKEN WITH AVOCADO SALSA (recipe from Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food: Light)

Coarse salt and ground pepper
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 medium red onion, finely diced
2 tbsp fresh lime juice
1 Hass avocado, pitted and cut into chunks

  1. In small bowl, combine 1 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper, and cayenne; rub all over chicken, pressing to adhere.
  2. In large skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Add chicken, and cook until browned on the outside and opaque throughout, 8 to 10 minutes per side.
  3. Meanwhile, in medium bowl, combine onion and lime juice; set aside. Just before serving, fold avocado chunks into onion mixture; season with salt and pepper. Serve chicken topped with salsa.

I love how quickly this came together. I know we’re not quite to avocado season, but I love em so much I have to eat them year round!

And just for fun…

Leave a Reply

