Spicy Mocha Pound Cake

278c spicy mocha pound cake

Last week I invited a few friends over for a little dinner party. As I finished planning the menu and began making my grocery list, it dawned on me that I would probably need to make a dessert of some kind.

(Don’t judge, but I’m one of those weirdos who isn’t a huge dessert person. Dessert is tasty and all, but I’d almost always pass it over for more appetizers or another glass of wine. Preferably both.)

Anyway, since I already had a bunch of stuff on my to-cook list, I wanted a simple dessert that I could make ahead of time, that wasn’t too intricate or time consuming or intense, and that I wouldn’t need to buy a bunch of ingredients for. When I came across this poundcake, I thought it sounded really simple and elegant with an interesting twist. And when I realized I already had every single ingredient in my pantry (you probably do, too!), I was sold!

Then…tragedy struck. Something came up and we had to cancel our party. I wasn’t too bummed, because I hadn’t actually gone grocery shopping yet (and let’s face it, menu planning and grocery list making is like a day at the beach for me)…but then I walked into the kitchen and remembered that I had already mixed all the dry ingredients for the poundcake in an effort to cut down on day-of prep (and dishes).

Staring at that bowl full of flour and cocoa powder, trying to decide whether to throw it out or to MAKE AN ENTIRE CAKE JUST FOR MYSELF…

Guess I don’t have to tell you what happened next.

278a spicy mocha pound cake

SPICY MOCHA POUND CAKE (recipe from Bev Cooks)

1 cup sugar
1 stick butter, softened and cut into pieces
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup strong coffee
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp baking powder
1 pinch salt

1. Preheat oven to 375.
2. Cream butter and sugar. Once creamed, add each egg, one at a time, until creamy and silky. Pour milk, coffee, and vanilla extract into mixture and stir until well combined.
3. In separate large bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, cayenne, baking powder, and pinch of salt, making sure ingredients are well combined. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and fold, combining completely.
4. Pour mixture into lightly-greased and floured loaf pan (I lined mine with tinfoil to make for easy removal). Bake for 50 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Start checking at the 40-minute mark. Once baked, let cool on wire rack about 10 minutes. Top with powdered sugar, chocolate sauce, or whatever you like.

This was definitely my kindof dessert, so I guess it’s good I got it all to myself šŸ™‚ This is not overly sweet — more like a hint of sweetness — so even though it looks incredibly chocolatey and rich, its flavors are more subtle. This is also not overly spicy, so don’t let the cayenne pepper scare you off. It was more like a slight lingering heat in your throat after eating it. I loved it, and unless you’re the kind of person who thinks ketchup is too spicy (don’t joke, I knew a girl in college who claimed this very ailment), you’re not going to have any problems with this.

278b spicy mocha pound cake

Leave a Reply

