Spicy Avocado Chicken Enchiladas

One thing I’ve realized more and more as I learn my way around the kitchen is that I don’t always have a lot of confidence in my tastes and opinions. When something sounds objectively good, I will work very, very hard to make myself like it, but it almost never works out. Examples of this include pineapple in savory dishes, red onions in anything, cream cheese in sushi, Guinness, and Moulin Rouge. Seriously, don’t get me started on Moulin Rouge…

[And Ryan Gosling! What’s so great about that guy??]

This problem was especially pronounced back in law school, when I would automatically assume that anytime I couldn’t understand a confusing legal opinion or concept, it was because I wasn’t smart enough. This obviously caused me a lot of anxiety. However, I had a classmate that always made the exact opposite assumption — if an opinion was hard to follow, it was because the judge did a bad job writing it, end of story. (for the record, he was a very smart guy) Since then, I’ve tried to be a little more like that guy in all aspects of life. Hey, if I don’t like pineapple pizza, maybe it’s because pineapple pizza sucks, not because I have bad taste.

Luckily, I didn’t have to do any work at all to like this dinner. What’s more perfect than than avocados, cream sauce, chicken, and spice? Practically nothing. Maybe only this.

SPICY AVOCADO CHICKEN ENCHILADAS (adapted slightly from The Novice Chef)

For the sauce:
1 tbsp butter
1 Serrano pepper, minced (seeds removed if you’re averse to spice)
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tbsp flour
1 cup chicken broth
1 tsp cumin
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
1 cup medium salsa verde
1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt or sour cream

For the enchiladas:
3 chicken breasts, poached and shredded
1 cup (8 oz) Monterrey Jack cheese, shredded
2 avocados, peeled and chopped
8 flour tortillas

1. Preheat oven to 375°F. In medium sauce pan, melt butter over medium-high heat. Saute serrano pepper and garlic for 1 minute. Add flour, stirring constantly, and cook for 2 minutes. Whisk in chicken broth, cumin, salt and pepper and bring to low boil. Once boiling, whisk in the yogurt/sour cream, salsa verde, and cilantro. Remove from heat.
2. Spray a 9×13 baking dish with nonstick spray. Add 3/4 cup sauce to the bottom of the pan. Add chicken, cheese and avocado to center each tortilla and roll up, placing seam-side down in dish. Pour remaining sauce over enchiladas. Bake uncovered 15-20 minutes or until bubbling. Serve immediately.

I used nonfat greek yogurt in my sauce, and it ended up working great. If you want things to be a little more ooey-gooey-decadant, add some sauce to the inside of each enchilada.

2 thoughts on “Spicy Avocado Chicken Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

