Curried Couscous Salad

At 28 years old, I don’t think my mind is quite giving up on me just yet, but it sure is playing some sneaky tricks. One trick that’s been happening more and more lately is this highly annoying (and kindof embarrassing) thing where I become absolutely convinced that I wrote a song that I did not in fact write. Has this ever happened to you? You’ll have some snippet of a melody or a lyric in your head, but it doesn’t seem to match up with any actual songs, and so you just sort of assume that your subconscious came up with it, and then all of a sudden, BAM!, Fergie pops up on Pandora singing the song your subconscious wrote. Thanks, Ferg.

Last week I had this problem once again, and it was exacerbated by the fact that the song I thought I had written was actually extremely vulgar. How do I even hear such songs? I must hang out with unsavory people…

This couscous is actually very savory. A little spicy, a little sweet…and with delicious crumbled bacon mixed in with those veggies, it’s a tiny bit vulgar, too. I dig it.

CURRIED COUSCOUS SALAD (adapted from All Recipes)

3/4 cup water
1/2 cup uncooked couscous
1/2 cups frozen peas and carrots, thawed
4 slices cooked bacon, crumbled
2 green onions, chopped
1 tsp minced fresh parsley (or 1 tbsp dried)
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tbsp cider vinegar
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tsp sugar
2 tsp curry powder

1. Bring water to boil in small saucepan; stir in couscous. Cover and remove from heat; let stand 5 minutes. Fluff with fork. In large bowl, combine couscous, peas and carrots, bacon, green onions and parsley. Cover and refrigerate until chilled.
2. In jar or dish with tight-fitting lid, combine oil, vinegar, soy sauce, sugar, and curry powder; shake well. Just before serving, drizzle over salad and toss to coat.

Yum!

2 thoughts on “Curried Couscous Salad

Leave a Reply

