Meatless Monday: Red Pepper Goat Cheese Alfredo Pasta

240 red pepper goat cheese alfredo pasta

I just got a haircut.

I hate getting haircuts.

They always make me angry. I don’t think I have ever walked out of a haricut appointment thinking “yep, I look good.” It’s always been more like “I can’t believe I just paid someone $60+ to make me look like this.” However, much as I hate haircuts, I do recognize that I actually need to get them from time to time. This one was warranted for two reasons, the first being that I hadn’t had one in something like nine months, and the second being that my beloved Kate Middleton just got bangs! So naturally I had to get bangs, or at least some approximation thereof.

I note that Kate Middleton also recently announced that she is pregnant! Well played, Kate.

Way to up the ante.

RED PEPPER GOAT CHEESE ALFREDO PASTA (adapted from Lauren’s Latest)

2/3 of a 16-oz. jar roasted red peppers, drained
1 tbsp olive oil
1/3 a small onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup fat free half & half
4 oz. garlic & herb goat cheese
2/3 cup grated parigiano reggiano cheese
1 14-oz. can artichoke hearts, coarsely chopped and drained
1/2 lb. linguine, cooked to al dente
salt and pepper to taste

1. Saute onions and garlic in olive oil for about 7 minutes or until tender. Pour in half & half, goat cheese, salt and pepper. Stir to melt goat cheese into sauce and keep warm over low heat.
2. Chop red peppers into large pieces and place into sauce along with parmesan cheese. Stir to melt cheese and remove from heat. Pour sauce into food processor and puree until mostly smooth, or use an immersion blender. Place back into hot pan and toss with cooked pasta. Taste and adjust seasonings. Top with more parmesan cheese, pepper, salt and parsley, if desired.

Unlike my new haircut, this was awesome. Keep this in mind for a yummy, meatfree main dish that can be made in a flash!

4 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Red Pepper Goat Cheese Alfredo Pasta

  1. Pingback: Meatless Monday: Farro Salad with Cranberries and Goat Cheese | windykitchen

Leave a Reply

